Apple Crisp recipe

With its sugar, oats, and apples, this is the perfect dessert for a horse. Humans like it, too.

I stole this photo from my sister Mary, who made the pretty star-shaped shortcakes on the right

Apple Crisp

Apples:

Fill a 13×9 pan about 2/3 full of peeled, sliced apples.  (8-10 apples? The topping is very sweet, so I like to use very tart apples such as Granny Smiths.  Well, actually I usually use the wonderful tart apples we harvest from our tree, but I don’t know what kind they are.)

Mix in 3T corn starch

Topping:

5 cups oats (instant or whole rolled–I always use rolled, but I think instant would work fine, just have a different texture.)

1/2 t. cinnamon

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c white sugar

1 cup butter, softened or melted

1 T vanilla

Stir together topping ingredients and spread over top of apples.  Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.


Updated to add some more apple-slicing details:

To slice the apples I use this machine:

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mj2I3TlqoDY]

There are different versions of this tool that clamp to a table or counter edge, but I love the suction cup on this one. It’s surprisingly strong and makes it so you can use the machine anywhere on a smooth sturdy surface.

I bought mine at Williams-Sonoma one year at about 8:45 PM the day before Thanksgiving. I brought it home and my family was so eager to try it that they had sliced all the apples in no time. I don’t bother to get the machine out if I’m just slicing one apple for my kids’ lunch, but it’s wonderful to have when we harvest 1-2 boxes of apples from our little apple tree in the fall.

The one step beyond what’s shown in the video is that I make three vertical slices through the “apple slinky.”

Also, I slice up all my harvested apples and divide them into apple-crisp sized quantities, then vacuum-seal them and keep them in my freezer. Right now I still have enough for about four more apple crisps before this fall’s harvest.


One last tip: If your hands are brown after slicing fruit, you can usually remove most of the staining by rubbing lemon juice on your hands and rinsing it. (Just make sure you don’t have any little cuts or cracks in your hands first or this will hurt.)

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Apple Crisp recipe

  1. marymary says:

    This is the perfect dessert for a mare.

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Nothing is better than warm apple crisp.

    Oh, and you better start Tweeting about sparkly vampire nipples, immediately. I joined twitter about a year and a half ago, so I do have an account. I literally used it for one night, and haven’t been back since. So, get to Twittering!

    • zstitches says:

      You would have to actually be there to see it. Otherwise that tree doesn’t really fall in the forest. (So, in other words, how do I find you on Twitter?)

Leave a Reply

