This kind of Saturday morning

I got to sleep in this morning, and dreamed that my sister and I were trying to move all our stuff into a tiny attic bedroom in the house we grew up in.  We were also trying to clear out an adjoining unfinished attic room, where rat-sized mice were scurrying around in plain sight.  My sister was dumping all the stuff from the attic in the bedroom until it was too crowded to get to anything. I got mad and we raised our voices at each other.  A friend (who was wearing a Halloween costume, as was I) got upset by the yelling and left. My sister and I agreed that the friend “just can’t handle conflict.”  We started making some progress on getting things arranged to both of our satisfaction.  But it was a huge job and all my clothes were still buried behind heaps of junk.

I woke up and fell back asleep.  Next I dreamed that I was touring a huge church barefoot and had lost all four of my young children somewhere many rooms back. I was trying desperately to find them and wishing I’d at least left them with a cell phone, since we were on vacation and they didn’t even know the address where we were staying.

Then I got awakened by our fire alarm going off and on for at least two minutes (not a dream) while Dean tried to fan away the smoke from the sawing he’s doing in the basement.  (There are probably also mice scurrying around in plain sight down there.)  I found out last night that his latest project is a revisiting of his ambition to launch a person–or at least a weight as heavy as a person–with water rockets.  Oh, dear.  The smoke alarm went off at least two more times after that (by which time I was good and awake) but I think he’s now rigged a fan to blow right under the fire alarm.  The whole house still smells like smoky sawdust.

Then I overheard Dean quizzing Ike about first aid for a Boy Scout requirement, and got to hear Ike repeat important information such as that you can tell a third degree burn because “You’ll be able to see the flesh.”

Then Mabel put a doll bonnet on Hazel.

That’s our morning so far.  Happy Independence Weekend!  And may you have sweeter dreams than mine.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This kind of Saturday morning

  1. Grandpa T says:

    Which sister?

    • zstitches says:

      I think the question you should be asking yourself is who brought up mice in a blog comment and got them into my subconscious. 🙂

  2. the MomB says:

    My sleep was very fitful last night, but I didn’t have dreams as entertaining/distressing as yours. Also, no one has a sweeter baby than yours.

  3. Megan says:

    I love Hazel’s mirror picture!

  4. Thora says:

    I think I saw a mythbusters show where they tried to launch people (well, a dummy) with water bottles – if I remember right, the dummy did a flip, instead of going straight up. I had a good dream last night – in it, I suddenly remembered that I was pregnant, but that I’d forgotten I was. I checked how far along I was, and I was 20 weeks. That would be nice, for a future pregnancy….

    • zstitches says:

      That would indeed be nice.

      Dean knows all about both the video that Mythbusters was trying to reproduce and about Mythbusters’ failure. He wants to show Mythbusters that it can in fact be done. But the flipping part is scary. He says he’ll only launch a person after he can establish a really predictable trajectory, but I’d rather he just limit it to crash test dummies. (Well, for that matter I’d rather he spend that time building us a nice deck in the backyard . . . )

Leave a Reply

