And then I grounded him and sent him to his room without supper

Rose: “Mom, there’s one place in our house we never clean. Dad’s basement. There’s so much sticks on the ground, I have to tiptoe.”

Me: “Mm-hmm. You should tell Daddy that.”

Rose: “I already did.”

Me: “Did you tell him he should clean it up?”

Rose: “Uh-huh.”

Me: “What did he say?”

Rose: “He said, well, he said nothing.”

After showing Dean this post, I asked,

“Should I take a picture of that thing you’re working on and put it on here?”

Dean: “No, it’s not finished. When it’s finished I’ll put it on my [water rockets] website.”

Me: “But do you want a picture of it in-progress, as an illustration for this post? Or do you want me to take a photo of the basement instead?”

Dean: “No.”

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And then I grounded him and sent him to his room without supper

  1. Kristina P. says:

    I wish we had a basement so Adam could put all his crap down there.

    • zstitches says:

      My grandpa had a separate property complete with large, full, storage sheds–they had to call in hazmat crews after he passed away (true story) (at least if I’ve got it right) because apparently he even had some radioactive materials. I might end up pursuing the option of off-site storage for Dean eventually.

  2. Grandpa T says:

    Hmm. So there’s still room in your basement for rocket science? My space in our basement is so crammed with my precious stuff that the mice are starting to complain. Maybe Dean could sublet me some space?

    • zstitches says:

      It might be wise to not mention a mouse infestation in the same breath with a request to sublet. 🙂

      My plan is for Dean to get his stuff all cleaned up so we can get the basement finished. Theoretically that’s also his plan, but in practice it sure doesn’t look that way. I have some stuff stored down there that I need to clean out, too, so I’m waiting until I’ve dug the beams out of my eye before I insist he clean up the sticks from his floor.

Leave a Reply

