Watermelon

Here’s the blouse I started sewing for Mother’s Day and finished a couple of weeks after that.  I got the linen on clearance a few years ago at Stonemountain and Daughter fabrics, and the blouse is interlined with bemberg rayon.  The sewing on this is impeccable, if I do say so myself.  The fit is not so perfect, and I’m not even really sure how to fix it next time. I used Wild Ginger’s Pattern Master software and it’s probably time I made a new fitting shell to get all my measurements just right.   I love being able to design and print custom patterns at home, but there’s lots of opportunity for error both in getting measurements wrong and in making poor design choices.  Anyway, the blouse was fun to sew, and it’s wearable (although it might not turn out to be a favorite).

It’s interesting to me how there’s not always as strong correlation as I would think between whether something’s fun to sew and how well it turns out.  I guess the fact that the sewing itself did turn out well is part of what made this one fun, but it was also fun for the chance to concentrate on a project that didn’t involve caring for my adorable children.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Watermelon

  1. Mrs Organic says:

    Very nice work! I only dream of being able to sew. You have a gift, my friend.

  2. Jen says:

    Love the detail work on this. Great job.

  3. Kristina P. says:

    It’s so cute! I really love the color.

  4. jennie w. says:

    Great job! Did you actually do all those tiny pleats yourself? Well done!

  5. the MomB says:

    It looks so nice. Such a good color on you.

  6. Helen says:

    All my comments were said, but I’ll say them again. I love the color on you! The pleated trim is pretty amazing, and I like the fit, too.

  7. Megan says:

    My favorite part is the pleats. When I get a new sewing machine, I’ll have to get a ruffler foot. Sewing for yourself would be so rewarding. My next project is living room curtains.

  8. Lili says:

    you look purdy 🙂

Leave a Reply

