Birthday lunch at the Brazilian grill

Dean: “This place violates your rule of not eating more than one animal in one meal.”

Me: “It’s not a rule. It’s a . . . guideline. A philosophy.”

Dean: “A sentiment?”

Me, biting into a morsel of bacon-wrapped turkey: “Yes.” I point to the red-light/green-light indicator that’s used to show whether you want more meat. “That yellow stripe is purely decorative.”

Dean: “I was just thinking the same thing. It serves no function.”

Me: “How do you show that you still want them to bring you meat, but at a slower pace?” I lay the indicator on its side.

Dean: “That’s for if you only want them to bring you grilled pineapple.”

This entry was posted in But Dean is the funniest, I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthday lunch at the Brazilian grill

  1. the MomB says:

    I’m impressed. I’ve never been able to eat one animal in a meal, let alone two. Half a Cornish game hen is about as much as I can manage.

    • zstitches says:

      Ha ha. I did have that thought, but it tends not to occur to me that I could report the conversation any differently from how it actually went, even if it would make more sense. I guess I should go into journalism.

      • the MomB says:

        You’re not supposed to make sense. You’re supposed to report accurately and offer opportunities for, er, humor.

        • zstitches says:

          Dean pointed out that I could have easily fixed it by saying “more than one type of animal.” But I did like your comment.

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Love it. And now I want to go to any of the Brazilian restaurants. Love them all.

  3. Stephen says:

    On Tuesday I ate four animals in one meal. It was a stretch, but I did it.

    (Fish are animals, aren’t they?)

  4. Annette says:

    I recently had my first trip there. It was awesome food, but I think I waddled out. And I don’t have the slightest clue how many different animals I ate, or in what format. It was delicious, though!

Leave a Reply

