What lurks beneath

I spy a bracelet and a sporty car

I spy a rattle and a paper Ninja star

I spy a wrapper that’s yellow and red

I spy a Lego that’s lost its head

I took this photo last fall, but I guess I was saving it for a rainy day, or an  80-degree one.  I had pulled out our toy cabinet to sweep under it.  A wiser woman would have swept all that stuff into a dustpan and chucked it in the trash, but I am not that wise woman.  Instead I spent at least an hour picking out each thing, dusting it off, and putting it back where it goes.  I guess I’m just sentimental about tiny Lego basketballs, and nice wooden blocks, and pieces of our broken dollhouse.  And we use the marbles with a set of blocks that have tunnels in them, and the little signs are cute with the toy train set, and . . . yeah.  I think I’ve mentioned before that life isn’t easy for people like me.

A couple of months after that, we pulled the oven out for the first time in the almost seven years we’ve lived here, and I got a photo of what was under there, too. I’ll save that one for another I Spy post another day.  (Maybe tomorrow, if I don’t think of anything better.)  (Aren’t you glad to have something to look forward to?) Let’s just say I was glad I hadn’t gotten rid of the rocker stacker toy even though it had been missing its blue donut for about 3 years.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, Miscellaneous miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What lurks beneath

  1. kpulsipher says:

    I think it looks like that under our fridge.

  2. Lili says:

    Oh boy. I’m doomed…
    I spend all day organizing (or trying to learn how to) fonts on my new hard drive…
    ugh

  3. jennie w. says:

    I can’t believe there’s not a single sock!

  4. It’s good to know I’m not alone. I do the exact same thing!

Leave a Reply

