And then I thought about some more stuff and some other stuff and oh by the way Hazel is walking now (a little)

One of the many ironies of life and/or blogging is that when you are getting a lot done In Real Life you do not have time to blog, and when you are not getting a lot done you feel like you shouldn’t be blogging.  Or maybe that’s just me.  (In my Real Life, last week and the beginning of this week=getting a lot done, and the last three days=not getting a lot done.  That’s if you don’t count reading books, doing lots of laundry, some ironing, a little cooking, and changing hundreds of smelly diapers.  And I don’t tend to count those things, not when I know there are more urgent tasks I’m strenuously forgetting.)

I swore I would never use the verb “blogging.”  The end of all nature is corruption.

Some thoughts on babies and babyproofing and stimulating educational environments:

When you “only” have one or two kids, it can be possible to keep pens and crayons out of reach and keep the kids’ surroundings relatively safe.  Then you try to make the surroundings educational by having bright-colored, open-ended-play toys, which your kids reject in favor of Real Things (my goal will now be to capitalize the word “Real” every time I use it in this post) like cell phones and Real keys (as opposed to plastic keychain rattles that I only realized were supposed to represent keys after years of exposure to them, so it seems unlikely a baby could make that leap of imagination).  When your baby has four older siblings, her every uncaged moment can be fraught with peril.  Yesterday Hazel found airplane earphones with a double-pronged plug, and while she didn’t even come close to strangling herself in the cord (she’s also pretty skilled with necklaces and balloon strings) she did try to plug the prongs into an outlet that did not have a cover on it.  (Now it has a cover on it, and the earphones have been put out of reach, and I am grateful I caught her before she succeeded in her attempt.)

So younger siblings can face much greater risks than the first one or two kids, but they have a very rich learning environment.

Speaking of Real Things, one of my kids (probably Rose) left seven dollars on the computer desk and a few minutes ago Hazel was sitting in my lap and screaming at me until I realized she wanted the money. I let her play with it, and she was a lot more excited about it than if it had just been ordinary paper with green markings on it, because she’s smart and knows money is a Real Thing.

I had a fabulous Mother’s Day.  Since Sunday usually entails helping get kids dressed and other mothering tasks, I asked for Saturday off, and managed to get a blouse cut out and one-third sewn.  (I haven’t worked on it since then, though, because I’m stumped on the best construction method on part of the sleeves.)  It was lovely to go a whole day without changing a diaper. Next time I do need to publicize my day-off better, because the kids came to me with questions and requests about every 20 minutes, and I had to keep sending them to Dean.  But it was still a great break.  On Sunday I slept in and Dean and the kids cooked a fabulous breakfast, Dean did most of the childcare, and the kids made a slew of adorable cards and drawings for me (which I may or may not get around to scanning and posting here soon).

In other news, we’ve finally persuaded Hazel, at 14.5 months, that sometimes it can be fun to take a few steps.  She particularly seems to think it’s fun to walk to Henry, maybe because he is a good height.  She still doesn’t see the utility of walking, though.  Yesterday she was holding a closed bottle of bubble solution in one arm and a toy puppy in the other, which meant she couldn’t crawl, so she was walking on her knees.  If she’s only carrying something in one arm, she’ll do a half-walk half-crawl with one foot and one knee.  I’ve never seen another baby do this.  Having four previous kids is no guarantee of having seen it all.  (We have had babies do army crawls and bum scoots.)

By the way, my lack of getting-stuff-done-ness in the last three days is not purely laziness, but also because I’ve been sickish. (Sickish means not deathly ill but definitely not well.)  And Dean is sick and so is Hazel, and Henry is sickish.  But since urgent undone tasks keep threatening to make themselves remembered, I can’t just relax into my (relative) inactivity.

Ugh, Dean just called to ask if he could go out of town for two nights for work later this month, and it’s for a good reason and I said yes, but it’s making me tired just thinking about it.  He’s traveled a lot this year, and even very short trips leave me feeling bereft and discombobulated.  (I’m nothing without my combobule.) I do hope to wrangle at least one more Saturday off-duty out of this.

I just realized that if I chopped this into several posts and illustrated them, it could look like I was blogging a lot.  (Ack, the dreaded “blogging” verb again, how can I show my face in society?)  Also you’d be more likely to make it through this if it was several little illustrated posts and not one long rambling text-only post. But I also just realized this might be my one chance today to get a shower (the kids are theoretically napping, although not really so much) (and now not at all–Hazel has another smelly diaper; I feel like I’ve changed twenty today) so I think I’ll just hit “post.”

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And then I thought about some more stuff and some other stuff and oh by the way Hazel is walking now (a little)

  1. kpulsipher says:

    Is blogging not OK as a verb?

    And the sickies are going around. Boo.

  2. Rachel says:

    I’m so sorry. Two nights husbandless makes me tired just thinking about it, and I’ve only got two kids. (Whereas, somehow, one night husbandless and sonless but daughterful constitutes a break.) I miss my combobule, too.

  3. jennie w. says:

    I love the combobule! I happen to love this post.

  4. Rachel Sue says:

    I know what you mean about babyproofing. It was easy with 2. And even 3. But not 4. It is practically impossible.

Leave a Reply

