Billy Quack

This year Mabel wrote and performed her own story for her school’s part in the Timpanogas Storytelling Festival*.  She was chosen as one of several kids to perform her story for a school assembly, and she did a great job.  Her performance was, in fact, completely adorable, if as her mother I do say so, and she had a great time.  I did take a video,  but I was kneeling on a hard tile floor (ouch) and holding the camera up in my arms for 7 minutes (the things we do out of love!) so it’s a shaky, blurry video.  But here’s her story exactly as she wrote it–my only suggestion was the very last line:

Once upon a time, there was a young duckling named Billy Quack. He lived in a pond with his siblings and mother. Billy Quack thought the pond was very fun, but sometimes he got bored of it. So one day he said to his mother,”Mama, can I go onto the shore and explore?” “Yes, you can,” she said, “but you can’t go past the tall reeds, or you will get lost.” “I won’t, Mama!” he said and off he went.

So he was waddling along, when he saw a pretty bright yellow flower. I can give this flower to Mama, he thought. He picked it up in his beak and waddled on. Next he saw a pretty bright blue flower to go with the yellow one. He picked it up in his beak and walked on. Then he saw a lovely red flower by the TALL REEDS! He picked it up in his beak and waddled on. Well, by now, it was starting to get late, so he started down the path for home. “Oops,” he said to himself, “I forgot, it’s this way.” He turned to go through the left path. “Or… was it this way?” Now he was worried. “Oh dear, I’m lost, and it’s going to be dark soon!”

Suddenly he heard a strange, deep sound that frightened him very much. RRRRIBIT! RRRRIBIT! And a strange creature jumped out of the reeds! He was big, and green, and when he talked his throat swelled up like a big bubble. “AHHHHH!” yelled Billy Quack. “Don’t worry,” he boomed. “My name is Hopping Harold, and I’m a frog! I won’t hurt you! RRRRIBIT!” Billy Quack was relieved. “What’s wrong?” asked Hopping Harold. “Well,” said Billy Quack, “I got lost from the pond and my mommy. Do you know the way to the pond?” “Sorry,” rasped Hopping Harold, “I don’t know the way. But I think I know someone who does. Follow me!”

So they waddled along, [plip, plop, plip] and hopped along, [Boing, Boing,] until they got to a rock and a pile of leaves. Billy heard a creepy voice coming out of the house. “Sssssss” it said. Then a long, green, snaky creature came out from under the rock. It hissed again. “Sssssss!” “AHHHHH!” yelled Billy Quack. “Don’t worry,” croaked Hopping Harold, “This is my friend, Slithering Sarah. She’s a snake.” “How do you do?” she hissed. “Not so well,” sighed Billy Quack. “I got lost from the pond and my mommy. Do you know the way to the pond?” “No, ssssssorry, I don’t know the way. But I think I know someone who does. Follow me!”

So they waddled along, [plip, plop, plip] and hopped along, [Boing, Boing,] and they slithered along, [sssss, ssssss,] until they reached a big, tall tree. Suddenly, a big blue thing whooshed right in front of Billy Quack’s face. “AHHHHH!” screeched Billy Quack. “Sssssssilencccccce, young one.” said Slithering Sarah. “Thissssss issssss my friend, Swooping Sammy. He’s a blue jay. ” “Well hello, hello, hello. How do you do? What seems to be the problem?” asked Swooping Sammy. “Well,” said Billy softly, “I got lost from the pond and my mommy. Do you know the way to the pond?” “So sorry, sorry, sorry,” chirped Swooping Sammy, “But I do NOT know the way to the pond. But I know some one who does! This way!”

And so they waddled along, [plip, plop, plip] and hopped along, [Boing, Boing,] and they slithered along, [sssss, ssssss,] and swooped along, [whoosh, whoosh,] until they reached a small den under a tree. All of the sudden, a big, furry red creature crept out of the hole! “AHHHHH!” yelled Billy Quack. “Shhhh, shhhh, shhhh,” chirruped Swooping Sammy. “This is my good friend, Clever Kate. She’s a fox.” “Hello, little duckling. How are you this fine day?” asked Clever Kate softly. “I got lost from the pond and my mommy, and it’s almost time for bed! Do you know the way to the pond? Do you?” whined Billy Quack. “I’m so sorry, duckling. I don’t know the way. But I know someone who does!” “Positively?” inquired Billy Quack. “Positively.” said Clever Kate.

So they waddled along, [plip, plop, plip] and hopped along, [Boing, Boing,] and they slithered along, [sssss, ssssss,] and swooped along, [whoosh, whoosh,] and padded along, [pit, pat, pit,] until they came to a big, deep, dark cave. Then, before Billy had time to take cover, a HUGE, EVIL, FURRY BROWN MONSTER CAME OUT! “AHHHHH!” yelled Billy Quack. “Take cover!” “WHAT DO YA WANT?!?” boomed the monster. “Shhhh,” said Clever Kate, “you’ll frighten the duckling. Don’t worry, Billy, this is my friend, Biggity Bear. He won’t hurt you.”  “I SAID, What do ya want?!?” boomed Biggity Bear. “I-I got lost f-f-from the pond and my mommy, and I-I was w-wondering if you knew the way to the pond.” “Well of course.” grunted Biggity Bear. “Why didn’t you say so? Follow me.”

And so they waddled along, [plip, plop, plip] and hopped along, [Boing, Boing,] and they slithered along, [sssss, ssssss,] and swooped along, [whoosh, whoosh,] and padded along, [pit, pat, pit,] and pounded along, [BOOM, BOOM] until, right in time, they arrived at the pond. “Mommy!” shrieked Billy Quack, and waddled right into her wings.  “I brought you three flowers!” “Billy Quack!” said his mom. “Did you go past the tall reeds?” [Look ashamed] “Yes, Mommy.” [Face brightens] “But all these nice animals helped me find my way back!” “Well then why don’t they join us for dinner? I just finished making it. Would you like to?” [Hopping Harold] “RRRRRIBIT! Why not?” [Slithering Sarah] “Ssssssssure!” [Swooping Sammy] “Yes, yes, yes!” [Clever Kate] “Of course.” [Biggity Bear] “MOST CERTAINLY!” The dinner turned out to be delicious! After that, they all went home to their own families. From then on, they were all friends. And none of them ever ate each other.

The End.

*If you follow the link to timpfest.org and wait for the screen that says “Midwinter Event,” in the accompanying photo you’ll see the back of my sister and brother-in-law Mary and Peter’s heads, as well as the top of their youngest daughter’s head.

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Billy Quack

  1. Jen says:

    {wildly applauds} Awesome story!

  2. Kristina P. says:

    You have a little author on your hands! This story is so cute.

  3. Stephen says:

    I love these two photos. In the first, she looks perfectly histrionic. How I would’ve loved to see her delivery in person.

  4. christina says:

    what I saw was, indeed, completely adorable. and I’m not her mother. therefore, it is official. mabel is completely adorable. and gifted at story-telling.

Leave a Reply

