You will be assimilated

Rose hands me a brochure.  “Mom, this is from school, to convince you to go to Disneyland.” A minute later she asks, “Did you read the whole thing?  “Not yet.” “Well, when you read the whole thing, it will make you want to go to Disneyland.  You better read the whole thing!”

(As a matter of fact, Dean and I are still in talks about going or not going to Disneyland in June.  The very-much-abbreviated version of the negotiations is that first I wanted to go, whereas Dean and the kids (other than Rose) were indifferent.  Then I talked myself and Rose out of it, but then Dean became interested in going, and he’s been trying to talk me back into it.  What I really would have liked would have been to go in February when the weather in Utah made life not worth living here, but Dean didn’t feel like he could take the time off work, and (although I can’t recall) probably one or more of our kids was too sick to travel at that time.)

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You will be assimilated

  1. Kristina P. says:

    You should go! It will be fun.

  2. Trina says:

    We’ve only been once as a family, and that was three children ago, so I can’t advise. But when we did go, I had to laugh at Guy. He’d never been before, and as we walked up to the entrance gate he said, “I can’t help but feel like I’ve sold out somehow.” At that moment, the monorail passed overhead and Guy said, in a completely different tone of voice, “Oh, but THAT’S cool.” Ah, Disneyland–appealing to the child and the engineer in each of us.

Leave a Reply

