It must be Monday

This morning after checking my diaper bag, my purse, and the kitchen counter and not seeing my keys in any of those three places, I was pretty sure they were locked in the car.  I could even picture where they would be: in the little pocket on the side of the passenger seat. I would have set them there after using my remote to unlock the car when Dean used his key to drive us home from church yesterday.

Sure enough, that’s where the keys were, and the van was locked. Of course I made this discovery right as it was time to take Rose and two neighbor kids to school.  I called my neighbor and said I could try to walk the kids to school, but she said I could send Rose over and they’d drive.  I thought Dean had our only backup key, so I called him to ask whether he’d rather come unlock the car or have me call AAA, but while I was on the phone with him I looked where we keep our backup keys, found one I thought went with our other car, tried it anyway, and got the van unlocked just as my neighbor drove by with Rose.

At least I was able to tell her that I’ll be able to do pickup later today.  And I’ll be able to take Ike and Mabel to their dentist appointment this afternoon without calling a locksmith.  And, next time I’ll hopefully remember that I DO have a backup key.  (I could say “There won’t be a next time,” but I’m too much of  a realist for that.)

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It must be Monday

  1. Lili says:

    I’ve owned my car for over a year now, and I only have one key. I REALLY need to get a backup made. Being me, it’s kind of a miracle I haven’t lost the original yet…
    :-/

  2. Jen says:

    My daughter found my keys for me last Thursday. They had been missing for two agonizing weeks. I’m glad you found yours so quickly.

Leave a Reply

