And talk and talk and talk and talk

I was explaining my theory of the ways in which English majors and engineers are or aren’t compatible.  “They think completely differently, so they’re not compatible in that way, but since English and the humanities are a pretty traditional area of study for women, and engineering and science are pretty traditional for men, often they’re compatible in the sense that they’re both fairly traditional.  So you can have a pretty good division of labor–he does the things he’s good at, she does the things she’s good at–”

At this point, my brother Tracy interrupted, “So he fixes the car, while you talk?”

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And talk and talk and talk and talk

  1. lambfox says:

    I would just like to say, that those safety goggles fit that bunny really well. Marco would say something, but he’s hotwiring the iron.

  2. JoAnn says:

    I am obsessed with words (so I blog) and I LOVE to read. My husband IS an engineer and he doesn’t get it, and he reads non fiction project management chart spreadsheet what the math equation stuff.
    We get along well, except for when he wants to know where something is. I never know because I don’t organize. He color codes tabs on his work binders.
    The End.

    • zstitches says:

      Although Dean has a logical mind and is good at getting things done, on the home front I’m far more organized than he is (even though, these days, I’m not very organized myself). I do hate it when he asks me where things are, though, because usually I’ve already told him before.

  3. Jen says:

    I enjoyed this post.

  4. Hannah says:

    Well, somebody has to fix cars, even if it’s not as important as talking.

  5. Lili says:

    hahahaha,
    this may be your best illustration yet.

  6. Betsy Croft says:

    Indeed, this goes very well with my latest blog post.

Leave a Reply

