Who are you and what have you done with my husband?

My cousin’s friend started a chocolate company, headquartered here in my town, that’s been getting rave reviews and sweeping awards in chocolate contests, including a recent one in San Francisco where they were the first U.S. company to even place in the contest.  We found out the chocolate can be purchased from the BYU Bookstore, so I asked Dean to buy me a couple bars of it and to pick up a couple for my mom.  He brought home just two bars.  I said, “My mom wanted at least two and I wanted two–why did you buy so few?” He said the chocolate costs $7 for a 2 ounce bar. “Oh.  Yeah, I’d better check and see if my mom still wants it at that price.”  He said–and I am not making this up:

“You and your mom and sisters should have a chocolate tasting party.”

So we did.  I put the chocolate in my Easter basket and then brought it to my Mom’s house on Easter weekend.  The women got to taste the chocolate first, but there was enough for the men and some of the children to have a taste, too. (You may note that the sequencing is appropriately slightly different here from the order in which one saves people from a sinking ship.)

We had a bar of Amano Jembrana milk chocolate, one each of the dark Ocumare and the dark Madagascar, and a couple of bars of Lindt dark chocolate to compare it with.  The Amano chocolate’s flavors come from the native soils in which the cacao beans are grown, and it’s surprising how much difference that makes.  I’m pretty eager to try the other Amano flavors now.  I was frankly hoping that I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between the less expensive and more expensive chocolate but, people, YOU CAN TELL.  Those who don’t normally like milk chocolate loved the Jembrana milk chocolate, and we all loved the darks, although some preferred the tangier Madagascar and others liked the mellower Ocumare.  In comparison with the Amano, I thought the Lindt dark chocolate tasted like dirt.  (Plain old dirt.  As opposed to overtones from exotic soils.)

Oh, and my sister Mary told us that after years of wondering, it finally occurred to her to look up the pronunciation of cacao.  It’s pronounced “kuhKAYoh.”  Maybe you already knew that.  I always tried to pronounce it kind of like cocoa, or sometimes as “kuhKOW,” but felt misgivings.

But enough about chocolate, let’s talk about CUTE BABIES.  Or one cute baby.  MY cute baby:

Hazel immediately loved this duck that came in her Easter basket.  I think she identified with its tuft hairstyle.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Who are you and what have you done with my husband?

  1. lambfox says:

    Your comment about the tuft hairstyle made me laugh. We used to call my little sister “Claudius” because of the similarity of her toddler ‘do to Derek Jacobi’s in “I, Claudius”.

  2. the MomB says:

    That was so much fun.
    That baby is so adorable.
    BLOG POST #1000–WOW–HURRAY!

  3. Pmom says:

    Did you do the tasting blind or could you tell which chocolate you were tasting?

    The picture of Hazel is darling!

  4. Jen says:

    Thank you for the pronunciation guide. Congrats on the 1000th post! Babies and Chocolate, both delicious. As is your blog.

  5. Liz says:

    Ah, chocolate. I eat a lot of Lindt here. Doesn’t taste like dirt if you don’t have anything to compare it to. For hot chocolate in Albania, we ask for “kuhKOW.” Hot Chocolate is a hot chocolate pudding. My dictionary shows either pronunciation for cacao.

    • zstitches says:

      Ah, so the cocoa/cacao waters remain muddy, after all. 🙂 I wonder if I picked up the “kuhKow” pronunciation in Europe.

  6. lili says:

    In case I failed to, please thank the imposter posing as your husband for the delicious chocolate-tasting party.

  7. lili says:

    *impostor.
    I really should proofread before I click “submit”

  8. Karen says:

    Can’t wait to hold my own Amano chocolate tasting party!

  9. Amy says:

    “You and your mom and sisters should have a chocolate tasting party.” One of the best quotes ever. I always knew Dean was a good man.
    Amano chocolates sound very dangerous.

  10. Annette says:

    Mmmm . . . Amano . . .

    They’re pricey, but some of the BEST chocolate. They’ve won international awards–and they’re the ONLY chocolate maker in the US that makes it from the bean itself all the way to the bar rather than from cocoa powder and butter.

    Yum!

  11. danithew says:

    Awesome topics for post #1000.

    You already know I’m a huge fan of Amano Chocolate.

    That baby picture is SO CUTE. Can’t help but be extra partial to these little ones right now.

  12. grandma weight says:

    Loved the chocolate discussion. We lived near a chocolatier (sp?) in Lake Oswego and every once in a while I had to splurge! Hazel is so darling! She reminds me a little of Jasmine–but Hazel has more “tufts”. She and Jasmine need to get together sometime! Maybe at the open house at Nancy’s? PS Congrats on you 1000 post!!

Leave a Reply

