And yet, I forgot to salvage the wishbone

This is for Beck (see this link).

How far I will go for a little joke: salvage chicken neck bones from the stock pot, pull out the little bits of spinal cord, rinse, and photograph them.

How far I will not go: bleach them, make a necklace out of them, offer it as a blog giveaway

How far it should be easy to go but somehow I haven’t been able to bring myself to: throw the bones in the trash after photographing.  It turns out that chicken neck bones kind of grow on you (not literally, thankfully).  (“It’s my vestigial twin!”)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, I think I'm not funny. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And yet, I forgot to salvage the wishbone

  1. the MomB says:

    Zina, did you already know that your great-grandmother Zina Charlotte Chlarson Langford boiled turkey neck vertebrae clean as toys for her grandchildren (inc. your dad), and that you played with them as a youngster in Grandma Hall’s basement?

    • zstitches says:

      I don’t remember that consciously, but maybe that’s why I’m finding it hard to throw these away. I did remember stacking and playing with cardboard cones, and only recently, when he saw me crocheting, did Dad tell me that those were the empty cones from crochet thread.

  2. Beck says:

    EWWWWWWW! AWESOME!
    I can’t believe that you didn’t go all the way and make a necklace out of them, though.
    Actually, what I really can’t believe is a children’s craft book suggesting the whole necklace thing in the first place. THOSE ARE NASTY.

  3. Melanie J says:

    Aw, see, I’d totally enter a chicken bone necklace give away.

  4. the MomB says:

    998

  5. JoAnn says:

    I agree with beck & Melanie. I think you should have a chicken bone necklace give away. I found you from Beck’s blog. Loving yours too, especially (for some reason) the bunny post.

  6. Sherlene Hall Bartholomew says:

    When I was probably about ten years old, Grandma Zina Charlotte (Chlarson) Langford gave me a long necklace she made out of what I called “turkey neck bones.” She died some of them purple, then alternated the purple and white bones to string the necklace. I can still remember her chuckle, telling me how she made it. I thought that was really something and wore it a lot. I just wish I had the good sense to keep and preserve it. That would be quite a souvenir/show-piece today.

Leave a Reply

