Hope is hard to kill

Henry:  “Are you making a cake?  You mean it’s my birthday?”

Me:  “No, I’m making some drop biscuits for our dinner.”

Henry:  “I thought you was making a cake for my birthday.”

Me: “Nope, I’m just making drop biscuits.”

Henry:  “Oh.  I thought it was my birthday.”

It’s going to be a long four months.

Henry on Hazel’s birthday (pouting because he didn’t want to be photographed)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hope is hard to kill

  1. Thora says:

    Mmm, drop biscuits. We have those a lot, since they’re faster, and don’t require a clear surface to roll out the dough. Poor Henry, having to wait another whole four months for his birthday!

  2. Lili says:

    So, did you make him a cake?
    😉

  3. the MomB says:

    I s’pose a birthday cake for Mabel will add insult to injury.

    • zstitches says:

      And birthday cake for me, and for Dean, and for Ike–Poor Henry’s the last. On the other hand, either his birthday or Christmas is never more than 7 months away.

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    Every morning Gracie wakes up and tells me it’s her birthday and begs me please to make a cake this time.

  5. Tracy Hall Jr says:

    I just noticed that I didn’t have Hazel’s birthday in my PDA. Did I miss it? If so, we’ll celebrate it at dinner tomorrow, together with Patrick’s and Mabel’s.

  6. Jen says:

    Our season of birthdays approaches. We have one every ten days for thirty days.

  7. Hannah says:

    Ha, ha, ha. Biscuits are almost shortcakes. Logan has been asking me this same question everyday since January. His birthday is in December. Maybe he thinks that if he keeps asking, his birthday will arrive sooner.

  8. Jbug says:

    my birthday’s in 10 weeks! so ha ha on henry!

    (not to say I’m not sympathetic,and that I don’t love drop biscuits!!!!!!)

  9. Rachel Sue says:

    We do drop biscuits too. It’s the laziness gene in me.

    how old is he? My son will turn 3 next week and has no concept of birthday yet. Presents, yes. Birthday, no.

Leave a Reply

