Analogy

Let’s say that you’re dating a guy who’s on meth, spends most of his time playing Grand Theft Auto, and is sleeping with other women.  You really want to get married.  Do you:

A) Marry him, planning to change his ways after you’re married

B) Insist that he change before you marry him

C) Date and marry someone else

D) Stay single

Answer A is how I see the “pass it now and fix it later” approach to health care reform legislation.

This entry was posted in Me? Opinionated?. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Analogy

  1. Douja says:

    C) thats the best choice

  2. Jen says:

    Yeeeees! Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  3. Lili says:

    Oh how I value your wisdom.

    And for the record, I’ve been doing d, but am hoping for c
    😉

  4. Tracy Hall Jr says:

    Right on!

  5. Susan Harward says:

    If this health care bill hadn’t passed though,how many years would go by before anything at all happened? At least it’s a start.

    • the MomB says:

      Wondering what you may mean by “anything at all”. Would tort reform, interstate health insurance commerce, weaning the system off employer-provided insurance, catastrophic health co-operatives, etc., etc., etc., be *nothing*? Many of us would love to move ahead very quickly on these sorts of meaningful reforms.

  6. Great analogy. I am a bit frightened. Cause I don’t think he’ll be for changing…..and thus…..

  7. Chris says:

    Lili directed me to your blog and I think it is brilliant!

  8. Pilcrow says:

    Susan, sorry, that’s option A — “well he’s still on the meth, but at least he’s married, right? Isn’t that better than him being alone with his problem?”

    Aren’t you worth more than being part of his dependency? I choose C at best, or D and still feel hopeful.

  9. BUT I really, really don’t want to be single. So what if he also beats me… I finally have a ring on my finger!

    … love this post. Exactly what I was discussing with my hubby last night.

  10. American Yak says:

    Long live the king!

  11. Hannah says:

    But what if you’ve been dating him for like 15 years… then is it OK? 😉

  12. Stephen says:

    Right on, sister. Amen and amen.

    And then I hear the press observe that they need to put the “final touches” on the bill already passed and signed. Whaaa!!? I guess the horse must just be too small to place before the cart.

    A dark day for my beloved country.

Leave a Reply

