Alphabet Magnets

We had a nice set of big magnetic alphabet letters when Ike was little, but after many of them got lost I got rid of them. I’ve had my eye out for a new set, but the ones I’ve seen have either been really junky with choking-sized pieces, or quite expensive. Finally it occurred to me that I could use the sheet magnet cartridge of my Xyron machine to make my own.

I probably didn’t choose the best font for these, and they weren’t dirt-cheap since the sheet magnet is expensive, and the kids have already lost a couple of letters, and we have to use them on the side of our oven because the front of our fridge is stainless, but, oh well. It was a fun little project.

Update: Remind me never to try to get work as a salesperson, because if THERE IS ANY TEENY LITTLE THING WRONG WITH SOMETHING, I will let you know.  If there is more than one teeny little thing wrong, I will also let you know.  Far be it from me to make some crazy-dishonest statement such as “I made these cute alphabet magnets and they are cute and there is NOTHING AT ALL WRONG WITH THEM and none of them are lost!”  (Although, in fact, we did find the missing ones, so for just this moment it’s true that none of them are lost.  But if any were, I WOULD TELL YOU.)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Papercraft. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Alphabet Magnets

  1. mary says:

    We have letters all over our fridge, but they’re not magnets, the kids just like drawing on the fridge.
    And did you make that cute little jumper for Rose?
    I hope you didn’t, because that will make me even more jealous of you.

    • zstitches says:

      I did. I wouldn’t normally sew for this holiday but having a daughter with a St. Paddy’s birthday makes it more worth it. I managed to eke this jumper and one for Mabel out of a TJ Maxx tablecloth, and used all but the tiniest scraps of fabric. That was a couple of years ago and I chose the tablecloth because I couldn’t find cute St. Patrick’s Day fabric at the fabric store that year. Mabel has outgrown hers, and it will fit Rose next year and possibly the one after that, so I’m getting lots of mileage out of one tablecloth.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    I love the shamrock top – so cute! It’s a good thing for our budget that I can’t sew clothing, I already have a bad enough fabric addiction with quilting.

    • zstitches says:

      Ain’t it the truth–although I try to justify the less-thrifty aspects of my sewing habit with mending and such. But lately I’m feeling like the mending is kind of hopeless since new holes appear so quickly.

  3. Aunt Ginger says:

    Too cute!

  4. Aunt Ginger says:

    So is Rose’s hair just naturally curly, or is that more work for you to do? I predict a long line of boyfriend’s at her door in just nine SHORT years and phone calls from boys that start way before that!

  5. Megan says:

    Henry sticks our letter magnets under the fridge. My sister-in-law, Beth, spent some time pulling them all out so he could play with them. What did he do? He immediately stuck them under the fridge again.

    I love Rose’s hair straight, too!

Leave a Reply

