Things I did and things I did after that. Also, Mabel as a Ninjanista

I sewed a shirt.

A while ago, I bought two large cheap shirts at Walmart for the fabric.

On Saturday I cut them up and made them into a new shirt. First I took a self-portrait of me wearing one of the pre-modified shirts:

When the new shirt was finished, I took some even lamer self-timer photos of me wearing it. (There’s no better way to get flattering candid photos than to push a button and race to get in front of a camera. My camera’s maximum self-timer delay is 20 seconds. If I could set it for an hour, I wonder if I could forget it was there, lurking. The resulting images would still be candid, since I often stand around with my hands on my hips and a frozen smile on my face.)

The shirt has several problems, the main one being that I made it too loose-fitting. I’m oddly still happy with it, maybe because the sewing process went well, or maybe because it’s as comfortable as pajamas.

Mabel’s also very happy with one of the remnant shirt pieces.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Sewing, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Things I did and things I did after that. Also, Mabel as a Ninjanista

  1. Kristina P. says:

    Seriously, I hate you, in that, you are amazing and I wish I had your talent, kind of way.

  2. the MomB says:

    YOU went to WALMART?

    I’m glad it’s so comfortable, because it looks great.

    Mabel can come with something out of anything! Nice hairdo, too, Mabes.

    • zstitches says:

      Me at Walmart, crazy, I know! I specifically went to get cheap shirts, but now I can’t remember whether they were cheaper than the ones at Target. I’ve actually been trying to make myself shop at Walmart more often, to save money, but I keep having bad experiences so I may give up.

      • Megan says:

        And you have to wonder, is it worth the (in my exerience small) amount of money saved to shop at Walmart? I hate shopping at Walmart because the customers are so rude, I’ve been near-missed in the parking lot too many times!

    • Megan says:

      I also love Mabel’s hair do. I used to sit for hours trying different hair dos, but then wear it in a ponytail anytime I went anywhere. But then Mabel’s hair looks cuter than anything I came up with!

  3. mary says:

    Wow, awesome transformation.
    I’ve always wanted to know how to sew.
    Why can’t we just be born with that knowledge?
    Because I really hate having to learn stuff.

  4. Jen says:

    Fantastic. I love cheap shirt makeovers. I also love your taste in children’s names. I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned that.

  5. Lesli says:

    That was TOTALLY worth it if only for the adorable pictures of your daughter!

  6. Rachel Sue says:

    I am sincerely impressed.

    And your daughter cracks me up!

  7. Lili says:

    It’s totally cute! (Also, I enjoyed reading all the comments on this one)

Leave a Reply

