If I always paid attention to Rose, I’d never find time to write up all the blog material she’d provide me.

Here are a few minutes’ worth of Rosie quotes:

After resigning herself that Henry got to go play with a friend and she didn’t, she said, “I hope I have more fun than Henry does.”  (We’ll have to work on the Golden Rule thing.)

A few minutes later she asked, “Mom, how come families don’t like their kids to print a lot of ink?”

“If kids print a lot of pictures it uses a lot of ink, and the ink cartridges get empty and we have to go buy more cartridges, and ink cartridges are expensive.  They cost a lot of money.”

“Why did Jesus make ink cost a lot?

“Well, the companies that sell the ink get money when people buy it, and they like to get a lot of money.”

“Mom, I figured out what people that work at stores can do with the money you give them when you buy stuff.  They can go to other stores and buy different stuff.”

“Yes, and they have to pay for their houses and food and clothes, to take care of their families.  Just like Daddy works at a school and gets money to take care of our family.”

“And I figured out why the people at circuses need tickets.  They can take the tickets and use them to go to a different carnival, if they don’t tear the tickets.”

“Oh.  Well, different carnivals use different tickets, so they couldn’t do that, but they could use the money from selling tickets to buy a different ticket.  Also, working at a circus is a job, too, and they need the money to take care of their families, just like the people who work in stores.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If I always paid attention to Rose, I’d never find time to write up all the blog material she’d provide me.

  1. Mrs. Organic says:

    I love it when you can see their little wheels turning.

  2. Kacy says:

    I love the name Rose. I hope it’s her real name, and not a pseudonym.

  3. Mary says:

    You’re absolutely right about the whole carnival workers. All the carnival workers I’ve ever known always save up their money to buy tickets to other carnivals.

    • zstitches says:

      So, you know a lot of carnival workers?

      I did think I might have been stretching the truth by saying they have families.

  4. Anneke says:

    I love Rose Economics. I think she should teach.

  5. Megan says:

    Rose thinks things through logically.

    I think it’s funny that she asked why Jesus made ink expensive instead of just asking why it was expensive.

Leave a Reply

