Princess and knights birthday party

I was just looking at the post about Design Mom’s son’s really cute knight party, which reminded me that I never put up photos from Rose’s princess and knight party almost a year ago.

This party’s projects were heavy on paper crafts, and I couldn’t have finished them without lots of help from Dean, Ike, and Mabel.  Some of the things could be done  more easily with storebought items such as gem stickers.

The party favors were homemade crowns and shields that we let the kids decorate.  The crowns were cut from gold poster board and the shields from silver poster board, reinforced with cardboard and with an arm strap duct taped to the back.  (Dean was in charge of making the shields; hence the use of duct tape.)  For the gem stickers we found images of gems, printed them, cut them out, and ran them through my Xyron machine.  (I love my Xyron.  I use it all the time.)  We also made some stickers of crests for the boys to decorate their shields.  We spent a whole lot more time making the stickers than the kids took to put them on their crowns, but Mabel and I had fun making them so we didn’t mind.

.

We made our trampoline into a castle by taping on a few sheets of paper printed with castle bricks, and putting colored pennants on the posts.

After the kids had decorated their crowns and shields and spent some time in the “bouncy castle,” we served a light lunch, had cupcakes, and Rose opened her presents.  I think the cupcakes were a hit since several kids wanted to keep the toppers.

Here I am, looking less like the queen of the party and more like a woman who gave birth less than a month previously.  (I think I hadn’t even had a chance to put on makeup that day.  Either that, or my makeup is always this ineffectual.)  It turns out my mom-0f-a-newborn look is pretty similar to my current mom-with-anemia look.

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Papercraft, Parenting, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Princess and knights birthday party

  1. Pmom says:

    Exactly what does a xyron machine do?

  2. Kristina P. says:

    What an awesome party! And those cupcakes look so delicious.

  3. Looks like you have a great party. The trampoline castle is cute I want to jump in there 🙂 and those cupcakes look so appetizing.

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    Please tell me you didn’t sew her princess costume (because then it means I can’t buy one and I love it).

  5. marymary says:

    Fan-tan-shmastic. Especially Rose’s dress. Heh, heh.

  6. Megan says:

    Of course Dean used duct tape, it is the handyman’s secret weapon!

  7. lambfox says:

    That looks like such a fun birthday party! I love all the stickers, the shields, and the young Black Knight who must have lost an arm in battle.

  8. Dessie says:

    Such a cute party! Thank you for sharing! Where did you find the shapes to cut out of poster board for the crowns and shields?

Leave a Reply

