Things that go ding-dong in the night

At 10:23 P.M. the doorbell rings.

Dean’s upstairs reading in the living room, and I’m downstairs, so I wait to see if he’ll answer it.

I hear the squeak of the door being opened, then silence. After a minute I shout, “Who was it?”

“No one. They rang the doorbell and ran.”

“That’s kind of thoughtless when we have little kids sleeping.” I go in the kitchen to get some chocolate pretzels. “Those youths! Those darn youths!”

“I can see them running. I think I’m going to chase them.” He goes upstairs to get his shoes.

“Are you really going to go out and chase them?”

“Oh, it’s just kind of fun to chase them and scare them.” Now he heads down to the basement. I don’t see what he went to get–maybe a big stick? A flashlight? And he’s off into the night.

(The weirdest thing is that I’m having vivid déja vu while I’m writing this, but Dean has NEVER PURCHASED A BAG OF CHOCOLATE PRETZELS before today.)

And now Dean’s back. And yes, he says it was an extra-bright flashlight that he went to fetch from the basement. He didn’t catch the doorbell ditchers, but he saw that they looked about Isaac’s age and had dark hair.

Those darn youths!

Now all is still again. The only sounds are the occasional rustle of a page turning, the soft clicks of typing, and the loud crunching of pretzels.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things that go ding-dong in the night

  1. Lili says:

    Ah, juvenile pranks. Mom and I went to a bridal shower last week for one of the Knight girls hosted at Nancy H’s. Roesanne W was there, Caroline C, Anne and Stephanie M, and on and on. So fun to see them all…
    anyway, Nancy and I were recounting all the pranks–we tied a plate of cookies to a string once, and as they went to pick up the plate we’d left on their door, we yanked the string. Another time, we taped a garbage bag over the door frame and filled the gap with popcorn. Wayne heard us, though, and yanked the door open while we were in the act. Still, we’d already dumped enough in that the point was made (what point? um… the point of making a mess in someone else’s home?). His little boy Brock, who probably wasn’t older than 3, was there during the excitement–and he was completely and utterly terrified and traumatized. Apparently they still talk about this one (16 years later–I can hardly believe it’s been that long). There were other funnies but I’ll refrain from sharing. I love those folks. And, they helped me get all that prankiness out of my system before college and mission–those years were quite deficient of pranks–for which I have no regrets. Nancy also reminded me that we would reverse trick-or-treat, though (you give candy to the people who open the door)… and now her 10 year old asks to do it every year. So our pranks weren’t always bad. 🙂

  2. Lili says:

    (“We” being mostly me and Wendy A)

  3. Jen says:

    Sorry for your pranksters.

    Found a malaprop for you: “can be darn right embarrassing.”

    • zstitches says:

      Oh the pranksters weren’t really upsetting. I guess the self-mockery in my “Those darn youths!” statements didn’t come across.

      I love that malaprop–I’ve actually got a version of it (“darn right passionate”) on my still-unused-malaprops list.

Leave a Reply

