Me thinking about me writing about me thinking about stuff

So, as you may have noticed, this blog is not jam-packed with deep thoughtfulness or sharing of my innermost feelings. Mostly it has evolved into 95% funny kid stories and 5% Other Stuff.

This is not because I don’t have a lot to say about stuff other than funny kid stories and Other Stuff, nor that I don’t have a lot of Innermost Feelings. I might even have more innermost feelings than most. And I still write long imaginary blog posts all the time. But I usually don’t type them out, for a few reasons:

-My blog template’s main column is too narrow, making even shortish posts look verbose. (Before you start offering solutions, let me assure you that this is an INSURMOUNTABLE problem.)

-I have many strong opinions, some of them opposite to those held by some of my favorite friends. So maybe it’s best I keep my mouth shut, at least in a context where there’s not as much opportunity for give-and-take.

-I’m too busy sewing (sigh, I wish) taking excellent care of my beautiful children reading other people’s thoughtful blog posts.

-Thoughtfulness is boring. (Right? Tell me I’m right about this one.)

-Nobody’s paying me to write this blog.

-Innermost feelings expressed become outermost feelings, which, obviously, changes everything.

I guess what all this means is: I need to start a new blog with a wider column.

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ayVyQWD8hk]

“And ended up the kind of kid who goes down chutes too narrow”


This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, Metabloggish. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Me thinking about me writing about me thinking about stuff

  1. Kristina P. says:

    I like your layout. Even if you are on WordPress.

  2. Kelly Bryson says:

    Hi there. Just looking around…I hear you about not wanting to offend people. I like my friends, even though we don’t always agree, and I want to keep them. You can’t edit your html? Sorry, you said not to do that, but it made me want to offer a suggestion even though I know very little about code. -Kelly

    • zstitches says:

      Hi, and welcome.

      If I’m not mistaken, I would only be able to alter the code if I switched from a free WordPress-hosted blog to a self-hosted blog using free WordPress software (did you catch that fine distinction?). I’m told it’s not hard to migrate one’s blog elsewhere–if one knows what one’s doing. Which I don’t.

  3. Mary says:

    My blog is 100% percent my innermost thoughts and feelings.
    Which means I’m a moron.

    • zstitches says:

      I’ve noticed that about you–I mean the thing about your innermost thoughts and feelings, not the other thing you said. The other thing you said probably violates my no-flaming policy, if it applies to self-beratement. (I’ll have to check the fine print.)

Leave a Reply

