One step forward, two steps back

Step forward:

For a friend’s birthday, Mabel made a set of her Mix ‘n’ Match magnets and we put them in an envelope with a Velcro closure. I made some hair bows too.

Steps back:

Remember the yellow gingham silk dress from a couple of posts back whose lining I had re-hemmed? The next morning Rose had been wearing it for about ten minutes when she tripped on the skirt and tore a very wide rip about six inches up from the hem. The tear is in the skirt itself, not the lining, and is at least twenty-five inches long. I might be able to cover it with a ribbon after I repair it, but for now it’s back in the mending closet until Rose is a little taller. Mabel did wear it when it was as long on her as it is on Rose now, but I just don’t feel like taking any more chances on that dress for a while.

I almost took a picture of the tear but I didn’t.

This entry was posted in Kid Crafts, Papercraft, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One step forward, two steps back

  1. jennie w. says:

    Hey, those magnets are pretty cool! She should make them in some cute fabric prints and set up a little etsy shop!

  2. Trina says:

    Love the step forward (what a great gift), but the step back made me feel a little ill for you. Covering it with a ribbon is a good idea–when you can bear to look at it again. . .

  3. the MomB says:

    Yellow silk: oh, urgh, tears (but not on the fabric).

    I can’t remember if I exclaimed publicly over Mabel’s fabulous mix ‘n’ match animals, but I meant to. Wow, they’re just amazing.

  4. Nan says:

    Love the game…it kept me smiling while the mister changed channels with the remote…I hesitated to leave a comment because I don’t want it to vex you or anything so I’m typing with disappearing letters, in time this comment will self-destruct and it will be as if it were never sent…as it should be for an imaginary blog.

Leave a Reply

