And yet not so logical, in some ways

I’ve been trying to get Ike to work on his research paper for his history class (yes, in 7th grade he’s learning to write a real research paper with citations and everything–wish I’d learned to do that so young). He’s supposed to turn in a 1500 word paper on Friday and he’d written some of it but hadn’t been using his note cards from his research nor putting in footnotes for his sources, so I was trying to get him to work on that. I wanted to know if he had any other homework to finish first. He said that in his CTE class they’d done an assessment of learning styles and his dominant style was logical/mathematical, and he was supposed to learn something using that style. I said, “Okay, so work on your research paper using your note cards, and you’ll be using logic to determine which sources will be used for which parts of your paper and to assign the citations to what you write.” He said, “Writing is not the same as learning something.” “Yes it is. You learn when you write.” “But I’m supposed to use the specific practical suggestions they gave.” “Okay, bring the suggestions here and let’s see what they are.” He did, and, so help me, the first four of the five suggestions were: “Use lists to study from, arrange notes in patterns, assign numbers to information, take notes in outline form.”

And he still wouldn’t believe me that working on his research paper would count for the assignment.

Now, after spending the whole evening writing, he’s persuaded. He saw me typing and said, “Are you writing about my stubbornosity?”


He’s written about a thousand words but is only halfway through his outline. Tomorrow’s going to be a long night. I’m tempted to keep him home from school tomorrow to give him more time to work on it.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And yet not so logical, in some ways

  1. Kristina P. says:

    1,500 words is a lot! I had a dream I was back in college, last night. I wanted to throw up when I woke up.

    • zstitches says:

      Yeah, since your last post was only 500 words, you’d have to write three weeks’ worth of blog posts before you could turn in your work to your teacher.

  2. Megan says:

    I always hated starting writing my research papers. Are you going to play editor and do the chopping, or is Ike going to do that himself?

    • zstitches says:

      Actually it’s a shame he doesn’t have a little more time, because if he could have gotten to 2500 words (and it looks like he could have) he could have done a paper instead of an exhibit for History Fair. (The 1500 page paper is required for the class, and so is entering the History Fair, but for the fair you can choose to do an exhibit, website, research paper, or video. Ike signed up to do an exhibit but it would have been nice to just be done with everything when he finishes his paper. But it’s a little too late for that, but I don’t think his teacher will mind his paper being longer than 1500 words; I think that’s a minimum.

      • zstitches says:

        To be more clear, the class paper has to be at least 1500 words, but if you submit your paper for History Fair it has to be at least 2500 words. We would never have guessed that writing a 2500 paper would have been a better choice than an exhibit for Ike, but if he had more time I’m sure he could do it. Oh well, maybe he will enjoy putting together his exhibit–I hope so.

Leave a Reply

