Oh, Henry

Last night Henry was talking about something that sounded like “Danger Man,” and none of us could figure out what he was saying.  We thought maybe he’d gotten the name wrong on his new Spiderman jigsaw puzzle.  Finally, with a flash of inspiration, I asked him if he wanted another gingerbread man, and he did.

This morning I had sprayed Henry’s hair with water and was rubbing in a little gel, and he started shouting, “I don’t want Jack-Jack hair.”

“I’m just rubbing some water and gel into your hair before I comb it.  I’m not going to give you Jack-Jack hair.”

“I DON’T WANT JACK-JACK HAIR.”

“You’re not listening to me.  I’m NOT going to give you Jack-Jack hair. ”

“I DON’T WANT JACK-JACK HAIR.”

I grabbed his chin and turned his face to me.  “Henry, you’re NOT listening.  I’m NOT GOING TO GIVE YOU JACK-JACK HAIR.”

“Oh.  ‘Cause I don’t want Jack-Jack hair.”

“I know.  And I’m not giving you Jack-Jack hair.  See?”

“Oh, yeah.”

Baby Jack-Jack from The Incredibles

Henry did have an earache last week; maybe he lost some hearing.  I should probably have him checked.

(Also, I would post a photo of Henry’s Not-Jack-Jack coif, but Dean’s been getting our computer ready to install Windows 7 and spent yesterday backing everything up, so I can’t upload any photos or save any files unless I don’t mind them being lost in the installation.)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, Henry

  1. 5kidswdisabilities says:

    Cute, cute, cute!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Jack Jack hair is sort of cute.

    • zstitches says:

      I totally used to give Henry a spike or a fauxhawk pretty regularly–at the church nursery they told me they could always tell if it was Dean or me that did Henry’s hair since I always give it a little more topography than Dean does. I guess Henry feels like he’s outgrown cute mommy hairdos. 😦

  3. laura says:

    Adorable! Yeah—don’t worry about the hearing test:) we just went through that since Ethan failed the first one at school this year.

  4. positivelyorganic says:

    And I just thought it was the girls who outgrew cute mommy hairdos.

Leave a Reply

