Genius baby (In which I brag about my child–why have a blog if not to brag?)

I splurged on a crochet hat for Hazel for Christmas (really it was a present for me) (and it wasn’t really overpriced, it’s just one of those things I could have made myself if I could find the time) (and in fact I want to see if I can copy it) only I should have known that Hazel wouldn’t wear it. The first thing I put it on her she tore it right off and we repeated that process every time I tried again to put it on her. I did get her to wear it a couple of times in her car seat when her arms were tucked under a blanket, but she wouldn’t ever wear it when she was up and around.

Well, the other day I found her carrying around a tiny hat that goes with a Playmobil person (choking hazard, yes) and (before I took it away) I told her, “hat,” and put it on the Playmobil boy’s head. Hazel looked at me intently and I could swear she repeated “hat” back to me. She didn’t quite manage the “t” at the end of the word but it was pretty clear what she was trying to say.

So, just now she was crawling around my sewing room and I found the crochet hat and held it up and said, “Hat.” Then I put it on her and repeated, “Hat. Pretty hat. You look so pretty.”

She smiled at me. And kept the hat on.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Genius baby (In which I brag about my child–why have a blog if not to brag?)

  1. Kristina P. says:

    As she should! So darn adorable!

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    Goodness, she’s a darling.

  3. Jessie W. says:

    Aw, she looks just precious!

  4. Lili says:

    Um. How is it that your children get more beautiful each day? I thought there was some law that made it impossible for a beautiful child to grow more beautiful?

  5. jennie w. says:

    Yes, when you want to get kids to do what you want you’ve git to be sneaky and subversive. Otherwise they’ll never fall for it.

Leave a Reply

