Christmas banner

My mom designed this banner using images from her vintage card collection.  She gave us the illustrations and the letters, and we cut out the images, used my Xyron machine to apply adhesive, mounted them on the red cardstock rectangles, applied glitter around the edges, and strung the pieces on the ribbon.

We assembled this on Christmas Eve and had just finished gathering the supplies, including cardstock, paper, glitter, scissors, paper cutter, and Xyron machine.  Then Henry climbed under the portable table for some reason (probably because he is a three-year-old boy) and some other child must have previously moved the ring that keeps the table’s leg from collapsing. Henry bumped the table leg, it collapsed, the whole far end of the table fell down, and everything crashed to the floor.

Fortunately the glitter jar was still sealed shut.  Unfortunately, we did have to open the glitter later to use it.  Since the half-life for glitter remaining on household surfaces is ten to fifty years, I’ll be remembering this project for a long time.

This is one of those (many) times when my photos don’t do the subject justice.  It’s also one of those times when I wish  my blog’s main column were more than about 430 pixels wide.

I didn’t get a close-up of the scherenschnitte tree my sister Mary made years ago (the first letter “S” in the banner) although there is a close-up of the Santa-and-tree picture my sister Lili painted (the letter “I”).

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas banner

  1. Kristina P. says:

    That is seriously so cute.’

    Can you make me a Hoff one?

  2. the MomB says:

    This makes me happy!

  3. ashley says:

    The banner is lovely. Why don’t they ever have half life of glitter problems in math books? That would be some real life math. 🙂

Leave a Reply

