Next time we’ll just glue an egg timer to the wall

We use the timer on our microwave oven to time the kids’ turns on the computer. Friday night the microwave stopped working. (The timer part of it still worked, but it wouldn’t heat anything.) Last night Dean installed a new microwave. This morning Rose and Henry discovered it.

Rose: “I like our new timer!”

Henry: “Yeah, I like it too!”

Rose: “I don’t just like it, I love it!”

Henry: “I like it, too!”

Rose: “You don’t just like it, you love it!”

In this photo we were trying out my cousin’s Laura’s trick of having the dad entertain the troops while the mom snaps pictures.  I think we need more practice.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Next time we’ll just glue an egg timer to the wall

  1. zstitches says:

    I feel very triumphant for two reasons: I just edited a mistake in my mom’s post(I changed “Friday night the microwave working” to “Friday night the microwave STOPPED working”), AND I did it by touch typing (which I just recently learned to do).
    -Bob (a.k.a. Mabel)

  2. Jen says:

    way to go bob and the photographer!

  3. Megan says:

    It’s still a cute picture.

  4. laura says:

    did he walk down fake stairs and then fall down? Or did he spank himself? Those are some of our best smile tricks that my husband employs! I love the picture, they all look happy and cute!

  5. DeLaina says:

    Try http://www.softwaretime.com. It’s the best $40 bucks we have ever spent! Our computer is password protected and each kid has their own log-in. We set it so they have two 30 minute log-ins with two hours in between, the computer won’t let them on before or after 8, we can see exactly which sites each kid goes to etc. Instead of fighting over whose turn it is or how long they have been on, this program has fostered a sense of collaboration and the kids make deals with each other to take turns playing the things they like. Plus, extra time tokens are a great motivator for extra chores. The only drawback is that it won’t heat up your leftovers.

    • zstitches says:

      That’s too bad about it not heating up the leftovers. It sounds like a good program except for that a) I couldn’t pretend I hadn’t noticed that the little kids had spent longer on the computer than they should while I napped and b) eventually I do want my kids to learn to regulate themselves. Right now our microwave timer system is still working somewhat well, but I’ll have to keep that idea in mind if it stops working for us.

  6. American Yak says:

    I’m suddenly feeling reeeeeaaaaallly guilty for the amount of time I spend online… :p

Leave a Reply

