Credit where it’s due

In our family’s holiday mythology, Dean and I have a longstanding arrangement with Santa wherein he puts presents under the tree, but he lets Dean and I fill the stockings.  We have a similar arrangement with the Easter Bunny letting us fill the baskets, and it makes life a little easier to have less secrecy to have to maintain. I have almost no sentimentality about the Easter Bunny anyway, so on Easter I’m happy to shift the focus to the Savior.  Our story about Santa is that he works for Jesus, and then when the kids are around seven or eight years old and showing curiosity, we let them in on the secret that we, in turn, work for Santa .

Last night I noticed that, whereas the other kids had long-since emptied their Christmas stockings, Henry’s was nearly untouched (we were out of town for the three days following Christmas, or I’m sure this couldn’t have happened).  This morning Henry discovered his stocking, and was showing me some of his loot.

Henry:  “Mom, look at this!”

Me:  “Wow, a robot sticker book?”

Henry:  “Yeah!  I like obots!  That was so nice of Santa to give this to me.”

Me:  “Yeah!  Actually, Daddy gave that to you.”

Henry: “Oh.  Santa gived it to Daddy, and Daddy gived it to me!”

Dean shows appropriate surprise over the stickers that came with the Ricky Ricotta activity book

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Credit where it’s due

  1. Lili says:

    Um, I love that boy. (Can I have him?)
    Made me think of my friend’s blog post–she just had the Santa talk with her oldest, and I thought it was quite sweet:
    http://simmons-society.blogspot.com/2009/12/theres-something-about-santa.html

    • zstitches says:

      Lili, there are definitely times when I would loan Henry to you. Like when we need to leave right that second to be on time to pick Rose up from kindergarten and Henry wants his jacket zipped and he wants to do it himself without any help and he’s already tried three times and he just can’t manage it but he won’t accept help and he won’t leave until it’s done. (Yeah, I know, I should just accept that’s how life is with him and start getting ready 15 minutes earlier.)

      Your friend’s story was very, very sweet. It’s pretty similar to the approach we’ve taken.

      • Lili says:

        Ha, I know. And you know that I wrote that (mostly) in jest. He’s best off in your home–you are such good parents. But… I can at least have him as a nephew, right?
        🙂

  2. danithew says:

    This reminds me that I completely forgot to ask for robot stickers for Christmas.

  3. Kristina says:

    He knows the drill!

  4. Jason says:

    That darling pic looks like it came straight out of a FHE manual.

  5. Bethany says:

    Hello!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your sister very much.(I’m also the 7th of 9 children, so we have some kind of cosmic bond.)

    Your approach is very sweet as well! Have a lovely New Year!

Leave a Reply

