More deep thoughts at Christmas time

You know the questions they sometimes ask in I.Q. tests, in which they try to determine your ability to picture things in three dimensions?  I’ve never been very good at those questions, although I think learning to sew has helped me improve my 3-D imagination in recent years.  It turns out this fledgling skill is handy in clothes shopping, too, since so many clothes are designed with “hanger appeal,” meaning that they look great on a hanger but not as nice stretched over a more topographically varied shape. For those of us whose bodies don’t go straight down below our shoulders, it saves time trying things on if we can make a good guess of what something will look like on a different form.  The other day I realized that with my current physique, the easiest way to picture what the clothes will look like is to picture them stretched over a beach ball.

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More deep thoughts at Christmas time

  1. Lili says:

    Bahaha, Your illustrations kill me. And you do not look like a beach ball.

    • zstitches says:

      Thanks, Lili! And for what it’s worth, while I don’t really think look like a beach ball, as an abstraction it actually does help me visualize which styles are most likely to be flattering. (For example, a short flared skirt is generally not a great look for a beach ball. Now I’m wanting to Photoshop that . . .)

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    You are most definitely not beach ball shaped, but that image is awesome.

  3. Lili says:

    I just showed this to mom. She’s dying.
    “A beach ball with shoulder pads!… hahaha!”

  4. Stephen says:

    This post is, as usual, acutely amusing. Still, you do yourself no justice.

  5. Libby says:

    Having the misfortune of a physique similar to a clothes hanger myself, I guess I benefit from this development. Zina, your shape is quite a bit nicer than that of a beach ball. I guess I don’t know much, but I personally think that anything I’ve ever seen on you looks good on you.

  6. Brian says:

    Nice visuals! 🙂

  7. Mikilani says:

    hahahahahahahahahah!!!! thank you for the much needed laugh! 🙂

  8. Mary says:

    Just be glad you’re only shaped like a beachball (which I’m pretty sure you’re not) and not an actual beachball. If you were an actual beachball you might never learn how to sew.

    • zstitches says:

      It makes me sad that you’re so prejudiced toward beach balls. Not having hands is no reason they can’t learn to sew.

Leave a Reply

