Mabel models her skirt

Well (as I know you’ve been bated-breathedly waiting to hear) Dean ran yet another virus scan program, which eradicated a whole bunch of junk–but one of the most persistent problems is still there, so it looks like we’ll need a clean install after all. Happy Christmas to us. (Not that it hasn’t needed doing for, like, four years now. But the longer you put it off, the bigger a project it is. Dean did agree with me that once you add up all the time he’s put into quicker fixes, he could have finished a clean reinstall by now–but I guess we all need our chances to live and learn.) I need my beauty sleep, so the other photos I wanted to post this evening will have to happen another time. (I wish “another time” didn’t so often translate to “never.”) (Also, the term “beauty sleep” is such deceptive marketing–but anyway I need my “helps me look slightly less haggard” sleep.) (By the way (to go for a parenthetical record) today we noticed that Hazel’s got a new top tooth (her third tooth) which helps explain her (and our) night time sleeplessness lately, and which would give me hope for more rest now that the tooth is in, except for that there are still more teeth to come.)

Anyway, for now, here’s pretty Mabel in her skirt. I only meant for the ribbon tie on the skirt to be decorative, but we’re glad it’s there because the skirt is just a bit too big, and since it’s already a low-riding style, the ribbon helps keep the skirt up.

This entry was posted in Metabloggish, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mabel models her skirt

  1. Megan says:

    Mabel looks so good!. I love the grey/red combo.

  2. Beck says:

    She looks so cute!
    I can find big girl tights at Sears. Friends have also had luck at Lands End.
    (and if you’re really curious about what I look like, you can go here and scroll down: http://www.5minutesforparenting.com/meet-the-parents/
    Ta da!)

  3. Jennette says:

    Super cute skirt on a super cute girl. Love the flower too (really!).

    Sorry to hear about the computer problems. May they be merely memories soon!

  4. Lis says:

    I love the skirt!

    Have you tried Lands End for the tights? That is where I get Madison’s tights. They usually have fun designs too.

  5. ashley says:

    hanna andersson has big girl tights, too. often in very bright, “chase the winter blues away” colors.

    Very cute outfit, Mabel!

    • zstitches says:

      Yeah, while we were students I promised myself that once we had a real income I was gonna buy my girls Hanna Andersson tights–but then Target had them so much cheaper, and yes the quality is cheaper too, but when they wear out we can replace them with new fun colors & get more variety for our money. But if I can’t find them elsewhere I will probably go the more expensive route at least for the little while that Mabel’s still willing to wear tights. (I’m guessing Land’s End and Hanna Andersson have similar prices.)

  6. the MomB says:

    Great skirt, wonderful outfit. You look splendid, Mabel. Lucky you, to have such a mother.

  7. Mikilani says:

    what a beautiful skirt! and such a smart-looking outfit on a smart girl!

  8. Laura says:

    I LOVE the skirt! To die for. Seriously. I am wishing you didn’t have younger daughters or sisters with girls or I would try to claim it when it was time for hand me downs.

Leave a Reply

