I made some time to sew. It’s a Christmas miracle.

I have a fatigue headache and should have been in bed about two hours ago, but I was determined to overcome technical difficulties that were keeping me from writing this post (which is why this post is going to sound stupid).

I finished this skirt after Mabel had gone to bed tonight, so I’ll have to get photos of her wearing it tomorrow.

(Non-sewers may stop reading now.)

The pattern is from Ottobre Design magazine, Summer 2006 design #42. I added the belt loops and ribbon tie.

When I was about to do the stitch-in-the-ditch for the waistband, I searched my own post here on stitch-in-the-ditch from a long time ago to refresh my memory. I saw my sister’s comment that she has a stitch-in-the-ditch foot that works well. She had linked a photo, and it occurred to me to search amongst my machine feet. Sure enough, I had a foot that resembled the one she linked.

(By the way, I’ve saved a lot on feet since I discovered that I could get a low-shank adapter for my Bernina. I’ve heard that Bernina brand feet are the best, and I agree that they’re nicely made, but when I already own feet that work just fine, it’s nice not to have to buy the expensive Bernina ones.)

Anyway, since the one I had wasn’t identical to the one in my sister’s link, I did a Google Image Search looking for feet like my one, and I found things similar enough to be pretty sure the foot I had would work. And: on the very first page of Google Images, I also found my own image from my own old stitch-in-the-ditch post. And so we come full circle.

Here’s a little more about stitch-in-the-ditch. To make a nice waistband finish that doesn’t have to be hand-sewn down, trim 1/4″ off the seam allowance on the bottom edge of your inside waistband piece. (This is assuming your pattern uses 5/8″ seam allowances.) This will leave the inside waistband edge 3/8″ below the waistband seam. Now, finish that bottom edge with narrow double-fold bias tape. Then, using your stitch-in-the-ditch foot (which really does work quite nicely) sew along the waistband seam line on the top side of the garment, catching the inner waistband piece on the back. I used “Wonder Tape” water-soluble basting tape to baste the inside waistband piece in place before sewing.

This makes a nice professional looking finish and saves on hand sewing.

Rose took this portrait of a very sleep-deprived seamstress. (Hazel is no longer sick, but she keeps waking up in the middle of the night, and I’m the only one in my family with the knack to get her back to sleep.)

This entry was posted in Sewing, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I made some time to sew. It’s a Christmas miracle.

  1. I am stopping over from Debbi’s Suburb Sanity this morning. Holy Cannoli! That looks so amazing. What a wonderful job you did. WOW! I love it! It really looks perfect!

  2. Jen says:

    I do love a good Christmas Miracle. Great skirt, and great tutorial! I’ll have to see if I have such a foot.

    Where did you get your Bernina adapter?

    • zstitches says:

      Life with Kaishon, thanks for stopping by, and for the nice compliment.

      Jen, it’s been a while, but I think I got it from the only Bernina dealer here in Provo, and I think they might even have had to order it for me.

      Kristina, I could teach you . . . except first I need to wait for my kids to grow up or at least sleep through the night.

  3. Kristina P. says:

    It’s so cute! I wish I knew how to sew.

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    I have a Bernina, so thanks for the adapter tip. Someday I might actually sew again. Beautiful skirt and how unfair of you to look good even when sleep-deprived.

  5. Megan says:

    I am amazed at the beautiful skirt! I wish I knew how to sew, and had a working sewing machine!

  6. marymary says:

    Pretty, pretty. Waiting for the modeled pic. My lazy version of your waistband is to serge or press up the inside edge before stitching in the ditch — or (even lazier) — topstitching it down.

Leave a Reply

