We get croup, you get lots of photos of Hazel

Mabel’s croup is all but gone, but she still has some hoarseness and an occasional cough.

Hazel’s breathing sounds raspy at night and her voice is ragged, but she’s past the stage where we’re frightened for her.

Henry’s freshly sick, and Dean was worried enough to take him to InstaCare this morning, where they gave him some medication in a nebulizer, an oral steroid, and a prescription for an inhaler.  I took the other kids to church, but brought Hazel home and napped after Sacrament Meeting–I was exhausted from being up with Hazel and Henry last night.  (Even though Hazel’s mostly recovered, she’s forgotten how to sleep through the night.)  Dean and I each cared for a kid, and I was glad we weren’t outnumbered.

We’re 3 out of 5 now for our kids catching croup.  I’m still really hoping that Isaac and Rose escape it.  And I am very, very grateful that Dean isn’t gone on a business trip.

Here are the promised photos of Hazel:

After changing Hazel’s diaper yesterday, Mabel accidentally fastened her onesie over the humidifier’s cord.



I finished three no-sew tulle skirts for the girls last night (dress-ups for Christmas) and decided that Hazel needed to model one for Lili. I should have added a giant flower and hairbow for a baby-glam trifecta.


I correctly guessed that Hazel wouldn’t like the scratchy netting, especially if I set her down to take a picture.



What kind of mom keeps snapping photos while her baby wails? What kind of mom thinks photos of her wailing baby are adorable?



“Hmm, this skirt is kind of . . . interesting.  I’m starting to feel . . . pretty.”



“I’m ready for my closeup.”

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We get croup, you get lots of photos of Hazel

  1. Kristina P. says:

    She’s just so darn cute.

  2. OhSusanna says:

    Again, may I please take your baby?

  3. Lili says:

    lol. I love feeling like you’re blogging for me 🙂

  4. Virginia Wood says:

    Zina, I’m sorry you have had croup at your house. I am glad my croup days are over! It can be very scary. I remember Aunt Liz telling me that Greg had croup so bad as a baby and toddler that after too many nights sitting in a steamy bathroom with a choking baby she checked out information on how to perform an emergency tracheotomy–just in case. Sorry, I don’t think I could do that, ever.

    I have meant to ask you for a long time if you know about thetoymaker.com? Aunt Nancy introduced me to this great free site that has downloadable paper creations such as amazing little boxes, paper dolls, coloring pages and a creative blog. I’m sure you’d enjoy it!

  5. Megan says:

    She looks like she’s sitting in a cloud in the last pictures. And she’s adorable, crying or not!

  6. Acheté says:

    What a beauty, that one. Sorry again about the croup. Thanks for explaining how she hadn’t been strung up on a clothesline upside-down.

Leave a Reply

