In which Mabel shows she’s inherited her dad’s genius for naming things

We had some snow on Saturday morning.  Mabel named her snow girl “Pathetica.”  Tonight the kids wanted to sing “Once There Was a Snowman*,” which reminded me that as of yesterday afternoon, Pathetica was still in pretty good shape on our back porch, so we all had to see how she’d fared in today’s warmth.  She was still there, but living up to her name.

*Rose actually wanted to sing Once There Was a Snowman “backwards,” with the snowman defying all logic by starting out small and getting taller.  I don’t know where these kids of mine get their mischievous sense of humor.

I’m told that this snowball was once three times larger, but Isaac dropped the ball and it broke.

Mabel found the last two unharvested carrots in our garden, but decided they were unsuitable as Pathetica noses.  We had a pretty good carrot harvest this year; it saved us $2 in grocery bills.

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In which Mabel shows she’s inherited her dad’s genius for naming things

  1. The kids in our Primary sing the song backwards. The laugh the whole time like it’s a huge joke, but the chorister does it.

    Pathetica is an awesome name. It should definitely inspire pride.

  2. Megan says:

    As long as you spent less than $2 on seeds and fertilizer, then you’re still ahead.

  3. Jen says:

    Haha. I know exactly what you mean on the carrots. I spend $bazillion on stuff to feed my plants, the plants, stuff to fix the dry red blow sand so it won’t kill everything and get five tomatoes and a pepper? Grrrr.

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    That’s always the way with carrots. Pity, that.

  5. ashley says:

    Speaking of naming things, one summer my kids wrapped up overgrown zucchinis in baby blankets and drew faces on them. They were Zucchinia and Squashana and they were very good, quiet babies. I have to admit that I felt a little funny when I cut those squash in half to make zucchini bread.

    • zstitches says:

      I love your story of the zucchini babies. And yeah, I’d have a hard time cutting them, too. I’d have to tell myself that it was either that or let them rot.

Leave a Reply

