I feel like I should wait to post this until I also have a story to tell about Mabel, and leave no child behind (but, nah.)

Hazel uses her bouncy seat (the kind you hang in a door frame) like a swing, launching herself forward and then lifting her feet so she’ll sway forward and backward unimpeded, and she really does get going high.  All my kids have liked bouncing, but I’ve never seen any of them use the bouncer as a swing like this.  (As a baby, Mabel did try to turn her high chair into a swing by banging her back against it over and over.  So I guess that can be the Mabel story.)

Tonight Dean pulled all the books off of Henry’s bed and counted them.  There were twenty-seven.  Dean said, “Henry, you can’t have all these books in your bed.”  Henry said,  “Awww . . . just one?”

Rose was panicking this afternoon when I tried to trim her toenails. All my kids have tender toenails and hate having them trimmed, but Rose’s level of hysteria was even more intense than usual, more like when she needs a sliver pulled.  (The irony is that later this evening she did get a sliver–one tiny, easy-to-pull one–and her histrionics while Dean restrained her were unprecedented in this household.  We’re lucky no one called the police.)  So anyway, while I was trimming her toenails, I suggested she cuddle with a stuffed animal, so she was doing that, and then she got the idea to distract herself by thinking of happy things:  “I’ll think about school.  Miss W. is nice.  I get to play with M. and S. sometimes.  And my classroom is pretty.”

Tonight I told Ike it was time to put his shirt in the laundry because it had stains on it, and he said, “But they’re indistinct.”

HazelFlarAnother photo for Lili’s collection of babies wearing massive flowers.  Split-seconds later Hazel had gotten the flower off and was nomming it.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I feel like I should wait to post this until I also have a story to tell about Mabel, and leave no child behind (but, nah.)

  1. Acheté says:

    Look at that girl.

    I love all of these stories.

  2. Lili says:

    I can see that you’ve replaced pics of bunnies with pics of babies with basketball-sized flowers on their heads
    😉

    • zstitches says:

      Ah, but you haven’t seen the banner I would have had if I had gotten around to digging through my pre-digital photo prints . . .

  3. Jennette says:

    Funny stories! We have histrionics over here too when it involves clippers and/or tweezers.

    That baby is still deliciously cute. Tell me you made that sleeper!

  4. Kristina P. says:

    Your Rose is going to be valedictorian someday.

    And Hazel is probably the prettiest baby I have ever seen.

  5. Megan says:

    I think it’s hilarious that Hazel swings in her bouncy seat!

Leave a Reply

