The engineer and the English major

I’ve never considered myself to have much men’s sartorial expertise, and since generally I like Dean’s clothing choices and am also somewhat overwhelmed just trying to keep my kids’ wardrobes stocked with clean and mended, seasonally-appropriate clothes that fit, (not to mention my own wardrobe–ugh,) I don’t usually concern myself much with what Dean wears.  However, lately Dean’s been asking my opinion on neckties, and I’ve enjoyed encouraging him to try new shirt-and-tie color combinations*, and to resuscitate some lovely but languishing ties.  This morning he held up two ties:

Dean:  “Which should I wear?”

Me, pointing to the one on the right:  “That one’s got to go.”

Dean:  “A little outdated?”

Me:  “It looks like it’s from the early nineties.”

Dean:  “It’s my mission tie.”

Me: “So that would be . . .”

Dean:  “1991.  I guess it was a little naive of me to think something could stay in style that long.”

Me:  “Eighteen years?  Yeah.”

BestDressedDean models this year’s hottest accessory, Hazel.

*I can’t figure out why the Firefox spell check doesn’t like my spelling of “combinations.”  Am I blind this morning?  Or is Firefox crazy?  (Crazy like a fox!  A mad fox on fire!)

This entry was posted in But Dean is the funniest, I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The engineer and the English major

  1. Mhana says:

    I’m pretty sure it flagged combinations because Firefox doesn’t want you to end up joining the Gadianton Robbers and underlining the word is just a little spiritual reminder to keep your combinations public and Christ-centered. Also, you can’t go private because it stops others from blogstalking you. {in a good way}

  2. Lili says:

    Guy Fawkes day = FIRE!

  3. Kristina says:

    My husband has horrible clothing taste. And I’ve given up. I’ve tried to point him in the right direction, but he too wants to wear 1980’s ties.

    Hey, if you hurry, you can be in the top 140 comments!

  4. Megan says:

    I love Hazel’s smile! So cute.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    Seriously, the second he throws it away it will come back in style (except for those shorty-corduroy shorts from the 70s – those will always be in poor taste).

    • zstitches says:

      I did say, “That kind of fabric [gold paisley-like medallions on maroon] is actually back in style–but it’s a slightly different version of it now.”

      I’ve seen a photo of Dean wearing short shorts in the 70s and it’s pretty funny.

  6. Thora says:

    My husband has an inexplicable attraction to paisley. So almost all of his ties are paisley, and I doubt they’ve ever been in fashion – which makes it easier, I suppose, since they’ll never be any more out of fashion than they already are.

  7. Firefox does stuff like that to me all the time…who knows why!

  8. Hannah says:

    The 80’s are definitely back. What is up with everyone wearing leggings? But what do I know? I’m just an engineer who married a physicist. Although, I the first gift I bought Josh (my then boyfriend) was new clothes. That was when I still needed to show him off to my uber-cool roommates. I’ve since given up revamping his closet and decided to embrace all his geeky shirts. He is my uber-cool roommate.

    • zstitches says:

      🙂 I like your attitude.

      I did shame Dean out of one or two clothing items, (prior to this tie,) back in the day. One time was when I told him a sweater that he’d owned since the 80s just didn’t look good anymore and should be tossed, and he said, “I was wearing this sweater when I proposed to you.” That made me feel bad–but at least the sweater didn’t stand in the way of my saying yes. (I think the sweater might have been a gift from a high school girlfriend of his, which adds a layer of weirdness.)

Leave a Reply

