My husband went to Vienna, and all I got was this lousy . . .

cold.

Last week I got to watch him sniffle live on Skype, and this week I get to do the sniffling myself.

I told him I should have made him sleep in his car in the garage so I wouldn’t have caught it, and he tried to tell me that I could have caught it at church, since he saw lots of people coughing and sniffling there. Maybe so–but none of those people sleep in my bed. (P.S. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still thrilled, THRILLED, to have my husband back. In sickness and in health and all that.)

This will help provide a perfect Fall break activity for the kids later this week: they can bring me steaming chicken soup in bed, wipe my weary brow with a cool cloth, and gently fan me with giant palm fronds.

P.S. Speaking of Dean being sick in the more positive sense of the word, he was in the Deseret News yesterday, on the front page of the Utah section below the fold, for a story on that research he’s been doing on glucose as an energy source. Here’s a link to the story on their website.

Dean_looking_serious_with_a_fuel_cell

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My husband went to Vienna, and all I got was this lousy . . .

  1. Kristina P. says:

    Very cool! I don’t know what any of that means, but it’s still cool.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    You should enter him in busybeelauren’s hot husband contest. You should.

    Sorry about the cold. Mr. O and I contemplate sleeping on the couch when one or the other of us is sick, but we know we’re going to get the bug anyway so why not be comfy and also near each other?

    • zstitches says:

      Okay, I have to admit I’m baffled by that contest–who votes? Doesn’t everyone vote for their own husband, and if so, how does anyone win? And if not, how weird is that? Do they have to use single ladies’ votes for tiebreakers–and wouldn’t that be weird, too?

  3. Barbara says:

    I saw this the other day! What a neat project to be working on. Hope you are feeling better.

  4. Jessie W. says:

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather Zina. Hope you get on the mend soon. Have you tried Grapefruit seed extract for colds? My sis Becky gave some to my mom and she’s been sharing it with me whenever we get under the weather. It can stave off a cold better than anything I’ve seen, even vs. just copious amounts of vitamin C. You can buy it at a health store then add it to water (tastes vile but works wonders) or you can put it in capsules and forego the nasty taste, and then just take it 2 times a day.

    BTW, that is SOOO amazing and wonderful about Dean’s research. I read the Deseret story. I am so proud of Dean. I noticed in the comments section there that someone was saying how ironic that this experiment is being cultivated by two people with the names Watt & Wheeler, how appropriate since it has to do with energy, and perhaps someday fueling things with wheels like cars, hehe! Way to go Dean!

  5. Mikilani says:

    Sorry about the cold – that blows! (Pun totally intended!) I like the image of the kids fanning you with giant palm fronds. Until Dean’s research takes off commercially and you can plug your fan into some fruit, there’s always child labor! šŸ˜‰

  6. Jennette says:

    Very cool re: Dean. I’ll have to show the article to Adam too. And so sorry about your cold. On the upside, maybe it can mean more time sitting under a cozy blanket blogging.

Leave a Reply

