This, that, and the other

We’ve been out of baby cereal for a couple of days, and this morning I crushed Crisp Rice cereal (a/k/a generic Rice Krispies®) with a fork, and mixed it with homemade stewed prunes (a/k/a undehydrated fruit leather.)  Hazel loved it.  And I had  always thought Dean was the creative cook in this family.  Not that he isn’t.  And, come to think of it, Ike’s the one who’s been known to dip raw carrots in ketchup–or eat corn chips with ketchup.

Speaking of Isaac and food, he doesn’t like ice cream or pizza–he has a moderate milk allergy, but can sometimes eat those things now, but he’s never acquired a taste for them–but he LOVES smoked oysters.  We used to get them in our Christmas stockings in my family when we were kids (what? you didn’t get smoked oysters in your Christmas stocking?  More proof that your parents didn’t love you,) so I’ve started giving them to my kids in their stockings, and now I almost regret it because Ike asks me for a tin every day.  (I make him share it with me since I tend to have low iron and oysters have lots of iron.)  I was happy to discover, the other day, that a local discount store has them for $1 a tin, which is half the price at the grocery store.  After we eat them, I make Ike put the empty tin in a plastic bag and put it in the dumpster in the garage, because Dean can’t stand even the faintest whiff of them.

Tarnish on my Mothering Record:

My friend had to ask me to make sure her kindergartner gets in the door before I drive off when I bring her home from school on my carpool turn.  I’ve meant to do that, but apparently have been forgetting.  Oops!

Last week I was late TWICE picking S. and Rose up from kindergarten.  The first time I thought I was ready to leave on time, and then at the last minute Hazel and Henry both needed diaper changes, so I was five minutes late. The second time I was ready to leave 20 minutes early, so decided to get one more thing done and lost track of time–and was fifteen minutes late.

Today I decided to leave fifteen minutes before I needed to be there and just expect to wait in the car for  a while.  This meant I actually arrived about four minutes early.  No other cars were there, and I thought, “I’m not that early, am I?”  My cell phone rang and it was my carpool friend telling me that the school had just called her to remind her that it’s “early out” day on Monday.  So I was almost half an hour late.  I’m going to go write EARLY OUT DAY on every Monday in my calendar for the rest of the year in red pen before I finish typing this post–I’ll be right back.

Okay, I hope that helps.  (I don’t always look at my calendar on Monday mornings.)  At least Rose and S. said they had fun reading picture books in the office while they waited for me.

Tarnish on my car:

For most of my life I’ve been almost completely oblivious to cars’ appearances, and only cared about safety, reliability, and comfort.  Just recently, suddenly I’m embarrassed to drive my white minivan.  It’s just looking really battered.  (What are all those black scuff marks?  Is it from the kids’ bike tires when they park next to the van in the garage?)  We’re also at max capacity now, so I’ve told Dean that, in case we’re eventually able to have another baby, maybe we should get a minivan with one more seat now, to plan ahead.  He fails to see the logic in this.  Of course, generally Dean is all about cutting things as close as possible, while I’m more of a leave-myself-the-largest-margin-possible kind of person.  (Except when it comes to picking kids up from school, apparently.  Or arriving anywhere early, except for airports.)  When I drove carpool today, S. told me, “You need to get van doors that close by themselves,” so I guess she’s in my camp on the newer-minivan campaign.

Rosie_stripesThis

Henry_nosebleedThat

Hazel_bunnyThe other

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This, that, and the other

  1. marymary says:

    The black scuff marks come off with Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.

    It’s always a pain to drop off kids who normally ride in vans with doors that close automatically, because they don’t know how to close the doors by themselves. Even Adam and Ellen can open/close a van door without assistance, whereas I’ve given rides to eight-year-olds who just stand there looking helpless.

    • Megan says:

      When I was receiving rides from other moms in the carpool, we had to be reminded to close the door softly because we were used to forcing our old van doors closed (and a lot of times the van was parked on a hill/the driveway so you had to push extra hard to get it to close all the way).

  2. Megan says:

    Maybe the black marks are from the mer-van fin attachments. Although, that was a while ago. Nevermind, I’m sure they’re from something much more recent!

    • zstitches says:

      Hmm, there’s not doubt that Dean and the kids are hard on the car. Could be that. (Wow, you got back pretty far in my archives.)

  3. zstitches says:

    Thanks, Mary, for the Magic Eraser suggestion. I’ll have to try it.

  4. Hannah says:

    Mmmm… new minivan with sliding doors. I am definitely a fan. I’ll let you know when I get mine. Good luck with your persuasion. For the record, I totally believe in purchasing larger cars before you have the extra child to actually need them.

  5. Marianna says:

    LOL! I used to set an alarm on my cell phone to go off at 1:30 on Wednesdays to remind me of early release at 1:45. Now that is been 5 years I usually remember.

    • zstitches says:

      It is even harder to remember the KG one because it’s different from the other kids. In fact, Rose doesn’t start OR end school at the same time as Mabel (she would start at the same time as Mabel if I’d put Mabel on the PM schedule (kids at our school go at two different times at our school,) but I didn’t want Mabel on the PM schedule. (Come to think of it, none of my three kids start or end school at the same time as each other.)

      The sad thing is I did set a timer today! But I set it to remind me to pick her up at 12:08 instead of 11:38 (gotta love those times.)

Leave a Reply

