Just stuff, or, in other words, this post may or may not have a point

Today I finally finished making fruit leather from the last of the plums I had harvested 2 weeks ago.  (All but the actual drying of it, which my lovely dehydrator will do for me.)  Amazingly, only a few of the plums were too far overripe to use.

There are still a lot of  slightly-overripe but still-good-for-fruit-leather plums on the tree, mocking me.

Dean got home last night from a 9-day trip to a professional conference in Vienna.   (The American Electrochemical Chemical Engineering Association Society, or something.)  He got us set up on Skype before he left so every day at 3 PM our time, 11 PM his time, we were able to have our family song and prayer.  Dean caught a bad cold on the way there and it made me feel a little better about my grueling single-mom gig to be able to see him cough and sniffle live from across the ocean.  He hadn’t finished preparing his two talks before he left so he didn’t manage to squeeze in much sightseeing, although he enjoyed walking around downtown and trying a new type of pastry every day.

Hazel’s first tooth came in last week, and I think she’s getting more, since this last week she had some fussier-than-usual times.  I was already sleep deprived, partly of my own fault since I can’t seem to make myself go to bed anywhere near on time when Dean’s out of town.  (Not because I’m partying; more like trying to unwind from more-intense-than-usual parenting all day.)  Then one night she woke up at midnight and wouldn’t go back to sleep for two hours no matter what I tried.  That was another time I was glad for Skype, so I could show Dean what I was going through.  (By the way, I know there are many women whose husbands travel a lot more than mine does–but that doesn’t mean I don’t hate it when he’s away.)

Last night I told Dean I did love having the garage to myself.  Normally we park two cars in our barely-big-enough garage, but when he travels he parks his car in long-term parking after he drives to the airport.

I’ve been learning how to make silk flower hair clips, and driving all around town to dollar stores to find good silk flowers,  so we can make the clips at our ward’s so-called “Super Saturday” (a Relief Society event dedicated to making stuff.)  That last post with the photo of the big flower on top of Rose’s head was a joke because my sister makes fun of moms putting huge flowers on their babies.  Not that I wouldn’t put a flower on Hazel, but it would probably be smaller and clipped to a headband and more to the side of her head, not clipped right into her one tuft of hair at the crown of her head.  Next I’m going to try dressing Hazel in a paper bag; I bet she’ll look beautiful.

Well, my brain just drifted off so I’ll take that as my cue to end this post (’cause if I wait for myself to get to the point, my fruit leather will all be dried and I’ll still be sitting here, staring at the screen.)

SilkFlowers02

SilkFlowers03

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Just stuff, or, in other words, this post may or may not have a point

  1. Jessie W. says:

    Sounds like you had your hands full. Those flower clips are so darling! Very cute 🙂

    Wow, Dean is quite the international traveler. Hope he had a chance to take some pics of the city and perhaps hear some live music. It is Vienna after all.

    BTW, isn’t skype fabulous?! That’s what Pete and I have used to talk for free for the last year. Its so convenient.

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Seriously, I wonder if those flowers aren’t sometimes secret satellite dishes. Those poor babies heads!

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    That’s what it is! The more-intense-than-usual parenting – that’s why I can’t get to sleep when Mr. O’s away. He really does help out a lot. In fact, I probably ought to go thank him for that. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. My youngest daughter recently got a haircut that was much shorter than I had planned. I would love to have hair clips like this to make it prettier. Could you do a blog on how you make them? Or could you point me to someone else’s blog or some other source? How would you rate it on a 5 star scale of difficulty? Is this a possible project for a non-crafty gifted person? P.S. Where are the best silk flowers?

  5. I have no idea who Mrs. Organic is, but she is my new hero. This is the attitude I want to have. When I reflect on how difficult it is for me for my husband to travel so much, instead of getting whiny about him or his job, I want to remember that this is all because I like it so much when he’s here. I need to be thankful.

  6. zstitches says:

    Pmom, watch Fb for a reply–it wouldn’t be hard to do a tutorial, but you’re also welcome to stop by my ward’s Super Saturday and learn to make them.

  7. I just read your post and then I went on to read my friend Celeste’s blog and she posted this picture of some of her family and I had to laugh out loud because of the HUGE flower on this little girl’s head:

    • zstitches says:

      The secret truth is that sometimes I kinda like the huge flowers. Sort of. Depending. Anyway, your friend has a beautiful family–and it looks like her kids are just as good at posing for photos as mine are! 🙂

      • marymary says:

        Hey! I know those people! (The grown-ups.) In fact, he must know you, Z, because last time I saw him and said hello, he said, “It’s Zina, right?” I’ve been wondering ever since how you might know him. He was in the Stake Presidency of our (and Suzy & Patrick’s) married student ward and also one of Patrick’s law professors, and his wife is a storyteller at the library.

        • zstitches says:

          Hmm, they do look familiar, but I’m not sure.

          • the MomB says:

            These must be their grandchildren. I know this family too–they’re long-time Oremites–but I can’t think of their names right off (not that I’d mention them here)…

  8. Jennette says:

    I’m with you, Z. Sometimes I have to laugh at the downright silliness of the big flowers and then sometimes I actually really like them and want one for my girls. Since the huge flower-in-hair craze hasn’t hit DE yet, maybe I should get ahead of the curve and start using them afterall. Then I’ll be, like, so cool….right?

    But, frankly, your girls and their flowers look adorable and it makes me want one for myself. So, where do I find your tutorial since I can’t come in person?

  9. Pilcrow says:

    It’s President Thomas and his wife, can’t remember first names right now.

Leave a Reply

