Hair bows

I can’t believe I’ve never been bitten with the hairbow-making bug until now.  I bought a cute one at the county fair a few weeks ago and wanted to buy more but told myself I could probably find instructions online and make them cheaper.  Then, since Rose’s kindergarten class is celebrating one color each day for the next two weeks and she didn’t have anything brown to wear for tomorrow, I decided to try to make some brown hairbows for her.

I’m still wanting a few more supplies (alligator-style clips, some sort of non-slip material, possibly a wood burning tool to heat-seal the ends of the ribbon–although for now a little mini-torch Dean bought is working fine,) but with the exception of the brown/pink ribbon, this first batch were “free” since I already had all the supplies on hand.

Here are the instructions I used. (I copied a purchased bow for the large red ones.)  For what it’s worth, so far to me it looks like Fabri-tac glue is tidier but hot glue is stronger.  These ones are mounted on french clips, which work fine over a pony tail.

I’d love to get photos of the girls wearing these, but it will probably have to wait, since I killed our little digital camera and Dean needs to take his big one to school with him tomorrow.

Hairbows

HairbowClutter

Hairbows2

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hair bows

  1. laura says:

    They are SOOOO cute. I think you should make a couple over the top huge ones for Hazel and take some pics for that bow website.

Leave a Reply

