Fresh peach tarts

We got a box of local peaches that were delicious uncooked, so I wanted a dessert recipe that didn’t call for cooking them.  This is what we came up with:

Peach_tarts01

For the sweet precooked crust, I used this recipe from allrecipes.com (link.)  Just like the recipe says, it tastes like a sugar cookie, but with a flaky pie crust texture.  I followed some of the reviewers’ suggestions to use a whole egg instead of half an egg, and I also added some ice water (too much, actually, and it made it gooey, so I can’t say whether the water was a good idea.)  I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper.  (Does anyone know how to do this without having someone hold the edge of the paper so it doesn’t slide away under the pin?  I’ve always made Dean or a kid help, but won’t know what to do if I’m ever rolling out pie crust while I’m all alone.)

Dean made the glaze, using this recipe from Cooks.com.  He found that about 8 large peaches made 5 cups of fruit, and that two 9-inch pie shells substituted for the six 5-inch shells called for.  Based on suggestions I’d read while researching recipes, I also suggested using lime juice instead of lemon juice, so he used some key limes we had on hand, and they seemed to work well (the glaze was delicious.)  The glaze is sweet enough that I think a less sweet pie crust would also be good.

We served the tarts with mildly-sweetened fresh whipped cream.  This is definitely a new favorite recipe; it was purely delectable.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fresh peach tarts

  1. Kristina P. says:

    You are killing me over here! I would probably add some type of crumble on top. I don’t get nearly enough calories from the millions of hamburgers and fries I eat.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    That looks delicious. Most of our peaches are windfall this year and won’t look so pretty in a tart. Maybe if I cover them up with whipped cream no one will notice?

  3. Lili says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
    Fresh peaches are SO my favorite. Especially in a pie crust with mildy sweet whipped cream. Peach season is fleeting so quickly. And I weep.

  4. Stephen says:

    Would tape help with the sliding paper?

    How jealous I am of your fresh peaches and the like.

  5. Jason says:

    Utterly, superlatively magnificent.

    My peach source seems to have disappeared too, Lil. I’ll know fer sure tomorrow when I check out their erstwhile site a few blocks away.

  6. Jeanette says:

    Yummmmmy. All my life, my mom has taken our cutting board (from underneath the counter),covers it with a pillow case and dusts it with flour. It works wonders for rolling out pie crust.

  7. zstitches says:

    Thanks for that suggestion, Jeannette. I’ve tried tucking a cloth under the edges of a cutting board but a pillow case is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

