Remember the 80s?

I do.* But if you’re younger than about 24 years old, I guess you wouldn’t, really.

I swiped this image off of the front page of Anthropologie:

AlsoRememberTheAlamo

It’s not that I don’t remember fondly my vintage wool jacket with the large red-and-gray plaid, or the one in shades of blue with the oversized buttons, or that I didn’t enjoy wearing the black-and-red-check flannel skirt I sewed. And it’s not that I don’t know and understand that everything comes back around, and everything old is new again. But I can’t help it; it’s still weird to me when young folks (you whippersnappers!) pay good money for a look that seems so, well, dated vintage to me.

*When I say I remember the 80s, I don’t mean I can actually identify any of its pop culture–I was just as big an ignoramus then of music, sports, and TV as I am now. (I thought I’d better add that caveat in case someone reads this and forces me to take one of those 80’s quizzes I routinely fail.)

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remember the 80s?

  1. Hannah says:

    I must say that I HATE, HATE, HATE that plaid is coming back. Every time I see clothes adds with black, green, and yellow plaid I horrible flashbacks of my junior high years (complete with wall-o-wave bangs).

  2. Lili says:

    I bought a plaid shirt a couple months ago. It’s cute. Then I saw plaid… EVERY. WHERE. Oops. I’m okay with plaid being in style (a fabulous skirt mary found me at Savers is totally in style right now), but I’m always a little sad when something is _everywhere_, because then it’s faddish/trendy (and I don’t like looking too trendy) and will be _out_ of style.

  3. OhSusanna says:

    wall-o-wave bangs. I love it. I’ve never heard that expression before, though I know exactly what you are referencing and have heard them called many other things.

Leave a Reply

