Heavenly Father sends souls into this world in miniaturized form; hilarity ensues

My brother Tracy was holding Hazel, and my Mom and brother Andy and Dean and I were all admiring her.  I said, “She’s so dainty.  Dainty, dainty, dainty,” and just at that moment, Hazel let out a deep, long burp.

I had finished nursing Hazel and she was lying next to me while I read a book.  I had my foot crossed over my knee and I realized she was staring at my foot.  I touched my foot to her foot, then pulled off her booties and touched my toes to her toes, and she grinned up at me knowingly.

After Rose had been playing with Dean yesterday and climbing on his back, she said, “I’m tired of being a monkey and being close to you.”

In the car on the way to school, Dean heard Rose whisper to her friends, “I’m going to tell you a secret!  My Daddy is my best friend!”

Rose sits in the stroller and Henry pretends to push it.  Rose says, “Mommy!  Mommy mommy mommy.”  Henry says, “No, I dad.”  “Hi, Dad!  Daddy daddy!”  Henry replies, “Hello, son!”

RoyalHazelCounty fair royalty:  Hazel wears a cup-crown

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heavenly Father sends souls into this world in miniaturized form; hilarity ensues

  1. Mrs. Organic says:

    How does she pull off that QE II look so well?

  2. Jen says:

    Love it. We have Peach Days here this weekend, so she could be the Peach Days Princess and burp at opportune moments for her talent.

  3. zstitches says:

    Corrie, I had to Google QE II because I was thinking maybe it was a Star Trek character. 🙂 This is by far not Hazel’s most flattering photo, but I do think the crown is pretty stylish.

    Jen, I wish I were headed to Peach Days today, or to Swiss Days in Midway. I have a cold, though, so instead I’m alternating napping with laundry and ironing. That’s almost as fun, right?

  4. Kristina P. says:

    I love your kids. And remember how I hate kids? I actually like yours. 🙂 Hazel is beautiful.

  5. Jennette says:

    Wonderful! And here you are telling me that you don’t record the daily anecdotes….

    • zstitches says:

      Oh actually I am pretty good about the cute/funny kids stories–the things I can run downstairs and type up in a couple minutes. The stuff I’m not as good about (and haven’t been sure I even wanted to try) is things like larger events; the What I Did On My Summer Vacation kinds of posts.

Leave a Reply

