More parenting wisdom for the ages (that I really ought to have already known, but I persist in learning things the hard way)

Rose started kindergarten today, wearing the dress my grandmother Grace made for my mom’s first day of kindergarten, that all of my mom’s daughters and granddaughters have also worn.  (My brother Spen, the photographer, happened to stop by this morning in perfect time to take photos, so I’ll post some once I get them from him.  I also hope to track down photos of my mom and sisters and me on our first days of KG.)  (Oh, and I made Spen laugh, because after I’d gotten the dress on Rose and done her hair, when I sent her downstairs I had her tell him, “I’m ready for my close-up.”)

Anyway, here are my two bits of hard-won wisdom:

1. If you want to keep your kindergartner’s dress clean so she can wear it again on Sunday, don’t buy her a Frosty™ on the way home from school;

2. If you decide to pick a couple of strawberries from your Mom’s backyard, and you think that you can put one straight into your daughter’s mouth and she won’t get any on her dress, you are mistaken.

Kindergarten_Girl01

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More parenting wisdom for the ages (that I really ought to have already known, but I persist in learning things the hard way)

  1. Lili says:

    yay, Rose!

  2. That is so cool that you have an heirloom kindergarten dress. REally.

  3. lis says:

    I love that you have that dress. How wonderful! That is an adorable picture by the way.

  4. Melanie J says:

    Um, yeah. Ditto on the strawberries.

  5. Jen says:

    I love smocking. A lot.

  6. Acheté says:

    Congratulations, Rose!

  7. Spen says:

    What a fantastic photo of Rose. Ya don’t need mine!

Leave a Reply

