When parents stain things, they do it on purpose

Dean: “You know, none of our dressers are finished as nicely as that first one that I finished for Isaac when he was a baby–the one that Henry uses now.  It’s because I did so many coats.”

Me: “So, you didn’t give your beloved son a coat of many colors, but you did give him a dresser of many coats.”

Dresser

(I do realize this illustration doesn’t make any sense, but since when have I let that stand in my way?)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When parents stain things, they do it on purpose

  1. Lili says:

    Oh my word, I’m not sure how I feel about this illustration. It’s awesome but disturbing. It’s like a baby changing table a la Abraham and his apostate father.(?!)

  2. zstitches says:

    Yeah, my free-association went far even for my standards on this one. (Here’s how it went: the coat of many colors was for Isaac’s son Jacob’s son Joseph, but Dean’s son is Isaac, which made me think of Abraham being asked to sacrifice Isaac, which made me think of this graphic.) I did check with Dean before I published, to see if he thought I’d be struck by lightning, and to my surprise he gave it a green light. But I could be persuaded to take it down. Possibly. If it’s that disturbing.

  3. Lili says:

    Right. I wasn’t saying to take it down. Just that it’s awesome but disturbing. And really, it just looks like the one is about to tickle the other with a bird feather, so…

  4. the MomB says:

    But anyway, the boys’ dresser is beautifully stained, and your comment was witty and satisfying.

  5. Jason says:

    I just stared at that tableau for a long time.

  6. Acheté says:

    Deliberate . . . bloodstains? Sorry, first thing that came to mind. But don’t take down the illustration.

  7. Hannah says:

    I read your post too fast and thought your were talking about dresses instead of dressers. I couldn’t figure out why Dean had made a dress for Isaac. The illustration was very informative.

  8. American Yak says:

    This whole thing made me laugh hard, but especially the supplemental illustration.

    And it made perfect sense to me.

  9. jbug says:

    have they seen : Joseph and the coat of many colors”?
    I like,”the phar-row is in the buildinggggg!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

