I’m just happy they don’t say “cry-ANN” for “crayon” like my sister Lili used to do

Just lately Henry’s started pronouncing Isaac’s name as “ize-git,” with a hard “g.”  No matter how many times we have him repeat “ize” and then “ick,” as soon as he tries to put them together, it becomes izegit.

Also, when she prays Rose has for some reason always said “Please bless about” instead of just “Please bless,” and now Henry’s decided her way must be the right way, so when I help him pray and say something like “Please bless Daddy,” he changes it to “Please bless about Daddy.”

Henry_pony01

Pony ride at the Cache County fair

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I’m just happy they don’t say “cry-ANN” for “crayon” like my sister Lili used to do

  1. Lili says:

    Sweet. I made it into one of your titles. I’m just glad I finally learned to hear the difference–it would be SO embarrassing if I still said it that way. 🙂

    I’ve noticed Rose’s “please bless about” prayers. I think it’s cute. It reminds me of my French mission comp who used to pray “please help us to can (fill in the blank).” She could not grasp it when I tried to explain to her that the infinitive form of “can” is “to be able to” (Seriously, how do you explain the tenses of that irregular verb to an ASL student?)

  2. Lili says:

    into or in to? Crap. It’s in to, isn’t it?

    • zstitches says:

      Into is most certainly a word, although I relate to your hesitation; I’ve had brain freezes over this one too before. Not to mention over alright (not a word) and all right. Sometimes my mind still trips over my mother tongue (and collecting malaprops hasn’t helped with that. Nor did learning French.)

    • the MomB says:

      There ARE cases where it would be more correct to use *in to*, specifically when the word *in* goes inextricably with the verb. But in your sentence *into* is perfectly fine.

  3. Hannah says:

    Logan always blesses daddy to “come home from work” even if he’s sitting at the table with us. Maybe he thinks Josh takes work home too much. I’m a little jealous. I never get blessed by my children in their prayers. Maybe it’s because I AM INVINCIBLE (to them).

  4. marymary says:

    Zuzu only recently stopped saying “Please bless that we’ll have a good day” when saying our bedtime family prayer.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    Ize-git is a cute twist. My own daughter calls herself Dracie and then gets all upset when the kids call her Tracy, “Mom, they can’t know how to say my name.” (For the record, it’s Gracie).

    But my favorite is when she uses “her” in place of “she.” I’m in no big rush to correct her, as she’s growing up far too fastfor my liking.

  6. zstitches says:

    Hannah, it’s the same at our house–it’s the people who leave to go important places who get blessed. I’ve tried to get them to remember my trips to the grocery store in their prayers, but, like you said, I think they just think I’m always okay. (Which is SO not true . . .)

    And yes, Corrie, let it be perfectly clear that our efforts to teach Henry the right way to say Isaac’s name are only to tease him and assess how ingrained his own pronunciation is, and not to actually try to correct him. I always think it’s sad when new parents spend a lot of time trying to fix normal (adorable) childhood mispronunciations. (Unless the mispronunciation is cry-ANN, and then, for heaven’s sake, somebody STOP that child from saying that word.)

  7. jbug says:

    blease dex chabout would be worse.Ellen used to call zuzu “dudu” when adam learned what it meant, he went coo-coo

Leave a Reply

