Much weightier than the things Dean and I quarrel about (if Dean and I ever quarrelled . . .)

Rose and Henry are both distraught.  They were putting on their bibs to eat popsicles, and Henry offered to hold up Rose’s hair for her so that it wouldn’t catch in the snap, but she asked me to do it for her.  I innocently complied, and Henry was deeply wounded as well as infuriated.  When I asked Rose to help him feel better by letting him hold up her hair anyway, even though it didn’t need doing any more, she felt that would be a waste of effort, and was mad at both of us for insisting on something so stupid. Crying and screaming, she fled to her bedroom.

I’m sure their level of intensity over this has nothing to do with Henry’s being sick and Rose’s being tired.

(Thankfully, in the time it took me to write this, they both settled down and are now enjoying their popsicles. But now Hazel’s sad.  She must want a popsicle.)

RoseHenry01Rose and Henry on a better day

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Much weightier than the things Dean and I quarrel about (if Dean and I ever quarrelled . . .)

  1. Hannah says:

    If we could all make-up as quickly as kids, the world would be a better place. But if we all got offended as easily as kids, we’d probably still be in the same boat.

  2. jbug says:

    can Hazel actuly EAT a popsicle?

Leave a Reply

