Child’s-eye view

Rose, to a woman at the Cache County Fair:  “We used to live in Utah, but now we live in a new country.”

Later:  “We used to live in Utah, but now we moved to a new house.”

Henry, under a similar misapprehension:  “I want to go home,” and, when told that we were going back to the hotel, “It not a hotel, it our home.”

Henry scribbles avidly in blue crayon in the Polly Pocket coloring book loaned to him by a restaurant while we wait for our lunch.  In a melancholy voice, he sighs:  “I having a gweat time.”

Rose, at the hotel breakfast:  “I want one of those things that looks like a poo, but it isn’t a poo.” Dean:  “Rose, don’t talk like that!”  “But I want one of those things that Isaac has, that looks like a poo.” Mabel: “You want a sausage?” “Yeah!”

LittleTravelers

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Child’s-eye view

  1. Stephen says:

    Ah, sweet innocence!

  2. Kristina says:

    I will never look at a sausage the same way again.

  3. If only we could all be so free in our speech. 🙂

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    Ueah, I’m pretty much never going to eat sausage again.

  5. Lili says:

    hahaha, I knew what the thing that looks like a poo but isn’t a poo was right away. Maybe I’m ready for this motherhood thing 😉

  6. Jen says:

    Hahaha. Love the expression on that face!

  7. Acheté says:

    Hilarious as always.

    For some reason I see the picture on your main blog page, when this post is (currently) the top of many, but not the page for the individual post, where these commments reside (instead I just see the placeholder text “LittleTravelers”).

  8. zstitches says:

    Yeah, Achete, I’m having that same thing happen. It may have something to do with my having uploaded the photo from Dean’s laptop instead of using my usual method. I’ll try again later (haven’t uploaded pics at home yet.)

  9. zstitches says:

    Should be fixed. (I realized I could right-click it off the webpage instead of waiting to upload it.)

  10. Lili says:

    Also, I’m not sure how I feel about how grown-up Henry is starting to look. I guess as long as he stays as delightful as I find him to be, then he can keep growing.

  11. jenlinmin says:

    I have tears in my eyes from laughing so hard!

Leave a Reply

