Mabel catches me in a philosophical mood

It’s morning. Dean’s already up and the warm smell of oatmeal wafts from downstairs. I’ve just finished nursing Hazel. Her cheeks are pink and velvety and she looks up at me expectantly, willing to play, willing to be cuddled. Mabel comes into my room and climbs onto the bed. I say, “Isn’t she beautiful?”

“She’s the most beautiful baby ever.”

“The thing is, when you’re a mom, it doesn’t matter what your kids look like–no matter how ugly they might look to someone who doesn’t know them, you know how beautiful their souls are, so they’re beautiful to you.”

“But she’s also beautiful on the outside.”

“She’s so beautiful. And soft and cuddly. But it makes you realize how beautiful everyone must look to Heavenly Father, because he loves everyone’s soul.”

“Even though it’s hard to imagine that He could love her more than us, since we love her so so so much.”

“It’s not hard for me to imagine that He loves people more than we do, because when you become a parent, you hope that you’ll be unselfish and always do the best thing to keep your kid safe, but you don’t always. You have to work at it. And sometimes things happen too fast and you just can’t think fast enough of what’s the right thing to do, or you just can’t move fast enough.”

Mabel pulls back from where she’s been kissing Hazel’s tummy. “Ouch! That’s the one bad thing about her–she always tries to get your hair.”

“She’s a hair-puller.”

“She’s not a hair-puller, because she’s not the one who moved. She’s a hair-grabber and then it gets pulled when you move away from her.”

“No matter who’s doing the moving, the one who holds onto the hair is a hair-puller. ‘All I really want is to get some hair. Can I pleeease have your hair, Mabel’?” I kiss Hazel’s cheek and she grabs a clump of my hair and tries to put it in her mouth. I let her.

KnowsShesLoved

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mabel catches me in a philosophical mood

  1. The love of a mother! And, she is SOOOOO beautiful. Tell her she can pull my hair anytime!

  2. Annette says:

    There’s actually a pretty darn good life lesson in there.

  3. Jason says:

    I’m always amazed and a little resentful when kids show that kind of precocious insight. It’s easy to understand amazement; the resentment is because I would have benefited from that kind of understanding at any age.

    Thx for your continued sharing of your wonderful family.

Leave a Reply

