In which I play Supermom: Cupcake hamburgers and sugar cookie fries

Ickyburgers01

A few days before Ike’s birthday party, I showed Mabel the cupcake sliders at Bakerella and said it would be fun to make them.  We were in the midst of a wild whirlwind of  a week, though, so I wouldn’t have followed through with the idea were it not for Mabel’s endless nagging enthusiastic persistence.

This is as much a craft project as a baking project, and while it’s true that it’s not difficult, there are a lot of steps.  We started several days in advance and finished just in time for the party.  (Since I’m the queen–nay, the empress– of doing things the hard way, it didn’t even occur to me that we could skip steps, like forgoing the paper trays or doing without fries.)

We managed to keep our project a secret until the afternoon before the party, when Mabel accidentally let it slip.  This was just as well since I really needed both Ike’s and Mabel’s help to get everything together, and it was nice not to have to shoo Ike out of the kitchen while we were assembling them.

They were a big hit with the 11-and-12-year-old crowd.

Dean came up with the name “Ickyburger” from Ike’s self-chosen school nickname of  “Ick,” but it turned out Ike didn’t really like that name for his burger joint.  (His “better” idea was “Ickger,” so maybe it’s just as well he missed out on this part of the planning.)

We adapted Bakerella’s instructions a little.  The fine print follows the photos.

Ickyburgers06

Ickyburgers07

Ickyburgers08

Ickyburgers09

Ickyburgers10

Ickyburgers12

Ickyburgers02

Ickyburgers05

Ickyburgers11

If you want to make these, here are some things we learned along the way:

Paper trays:  I was able to open Bakerella’s PDF in Photoshop and resize it.  I put two small paper trays per sheet of cardstock for the individual servings and also made three larger trays.  I was also able to change the words on the fry sleeves this way.

Tissue:  I didn’t use her template, but started from scratch with Photoshop.  I cut-and-pasted until I had enough of the words to extend off the sides of the image, so that when I rotated the words to make them be at an angle, I wasn’t left with unlettered spaces at the corners.

Patties:  Instead of our usual 9×13 brownie pan, we poured the batter over parchment on a lipped cookie sheet, and baked it for a slightly shorter time than the box calls for.  Dean made a cutter by slicing a disposable plastic cup horizontally and then cutting a thumb hole out of the bottom of the cup, so we could push the patties out after they were cut.  (This was ingenious, but he did it without my oversight and I would have preferred the patties be smaller–although visually it does work for them to extend out past the sides of the cupcake/bun, I was planning to cut them with a Spaghetti Factory glass which I think would have been a good size. Actually I would love to have a cookie cutter in that size.  Not that I plan to make these cupcakes again in my lifetime.)

Frosting:  I accidentally bought a “whipped” type that wasn’t as stiff as I’d have liked.  I put it in the fridge for a while and that helped some.

Fries:  When I saw that the mix at the store called for butter and flour, I decided just to make these from scratch.  I used a Martha Stewart cut-out sugar cookie recipe.  It made a LOT of fries (which were nevertheless consumed in minutes.) I cut them out just like Bakerella does, using a pizza cutter and then trimming the ends with a narrow knife.  I also used the narrow knife like a spatula to move the in-between pieces onto a different tray, so none of the dough had to be rolled out a second time.  This recipe does not turn golden brown until it’s very overcooked, so my first batch was rock-hard, and after that I just let my fries be a lighter color.

P.S. I have nine small paper trays and two big ones that are free for the taking if you live in my area (Utah Valley.) If more than one person wants them, I’ll draw names from a hat. And if no one local wants them, I might be willing to ship them (although it might be easier to beg some from your nearest In-N-Out.)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In which I play Supermom: Cupcake hamburgers and sugar cookie fries

  1. Kristina says:

    I saw these on her blog and thought they were awesome, and something that I could do. They don’t look difficult, but I thought that they did look time consuming.

  2. zstitches says:

    Kristina, although they look very cool, they tasted just okay. But at the moment I’m craving them. (I guess they’re like real burgers in that way.)

  3. Anneke says:

    Um… do you hire out? Like, could I rent you to be my mom for my birthday?

  4. Jennette says:

    That is completely amazing! If it had been me, I would have been like, “oh those are cool, but I’m too lazy” and then made boring cupcakes for the birthday. So this is a supermom stint for sure! Wow, my jaw is still hanging down. Cool.

  5. Acheté says:

    Those. Are. Awesome.

  6. the MomB says:

    I’m stunned to learn that you made those trays; they looked exactly like the ones you can buy at Costco and/or Xpedx. I’m so lazy I would have bought them. I would also have purchased supermarket sugar cookies to slice up. But the paper tray liners and fry sleeves, well, they just had to be personally printed to get that Ickyburger legend on them. (Someday Ike will appreciate it.)

    Come to think of it, tho’, I’m so lazy I can’t imagine doing this project. It was a great thing for you to do.

  7. Mrs. Organic says:

    Major mom points for this project – wow! They look great. We have a birthday in a couple weeks that this would be great for, and it just so happens I’m in need of some major mom points.

  8. Lili says:

    Holy. Cow. All my sisters are supermoms.

    Only… (No offense!)–they just make me crave a real burger and fries.

  9. Lili says:

    (meaning they look *that* good — but burgers and fries shouldn’t taste like cupcakes and sugar cookies)

  10. marymary says:

    Completely and utterly, dazzlingly faboo. And I think I won’t be showing this post to my kids anytime soon.

  11. Mary Ann says:

    These are phenomenal! I’d tell you that they were worth all the work, but I wouldn’t know. They were certainly worth the pictures, and the paper liners really finish it off. I’m glad the kids are asleep too . . . I’m not up for any work for the next few months. If Christmas happens, my kids should be grateful.

  12. Jessie W. says:

    Wow, these are so cute, creative, and professional! You did a superb job, and what an adorable idea! I am seriously impressed, especially by all the details and the cute wrappings, too. Fabulous! And Happy Birthday Ike!

  13. I love that you did this for a boy’s birthday. I always feel like doing the creative time consuming stuff for girls, but then think boys don’t care about stuff like that. You should win a mom of the year award for this!

  14. katie higbee says:

    You are super mom. My kids would love that… but I don’t know if I have it in me. Max is turning 12 in October… I’ll let you know if I give it a shot.

  15. Lis says:

    Very impressive! All the little details you put into it are amazing.

  16. Jason says:

    Best. Mom. Ever.

    (I conceived my comment before I read HT’s.)

  17. Cheryl says:

    You really are a supermom! I love your posts and your creations! Oh and there will be a In-N-Out coming to a University Parkway and State st. near you.
    Also. Are you home yet? We need to come and see Henry, Rosie and Mabel soon (says ashby all the time) 🙂

Leave a Reply

