Way too much like real life

Ugh–I just woke up from a vivid dream in which I had first spent a great deal of time getting ready for some trip (something like a high school choir tour?) including making gaufres for a whole lot of people, and then suddenly a busload of women showed up to pick up Mabel and me for girls’ camp (Mabel was my little sister.)  The women in the bus said they needed to leave right that second, but I pleaded with them to give us a few minutes to pack.  Then Mabel and I ran around the house–the old house I grew up in in Orem–trying to gather everything we would need.  I was shouting to her that she needed warm clothes and was trying to find a duffel and my hiking boots, and feeling worried that without me to help supervise her packing, Mabel would forget her coat and freeze to death (apparently we were headed for a rather arctic destination.)

The women were saying they needed to leave and couldn’t wait any longer and I still hadn’t located my toothbrush, but then I woke up so I’ll never know if we would have made it.

And now I have a question for you: whenever I can remember my dreams, they’re anxious dreams like this one in which everything’s going wrong.  Do any of you have nice dreams like characters have in novels, that they don’t want to wake up from?  (I did have a very pleasant dream the other night that pertained to my husband, but since this is a family-friendly blog, let’s leave that type of dream out of the discussion.)

The only advantage I can see to my anxiety dreams is that escaping them gives me a motive to wake up.  (Because sometimes I wake up to a slightly less stressful reality.)

arctic01

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Way too much like real life

  1. Annette says:

    Most of the dreams I remember are anxious ones. I wish I could wake up from a long, lovely, happy one and remember it.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    I had one the other day that was a mix of the two. And was it ever strange. We were in the ocean and real sharks swimming under us, only we were in one of those big water tanks they use for filming. Then suddenly we were on dry land and I was doing my visiting teaching and realized the woman was someone I hadn’t seen in several years (must be all the reunions last weekend) and we had a lovely visit.

    My anxious dreams almost always involve the ocean or flying uncontrollably.

  3. taracummins says:

    Love, love, love the picture!

    And you KNOW I have fond memories of gaufres….

    The last dream I had that I remember was the night last week when I had locked myself out of my best friend’s house – where I was house sitting – late at night, with the 2 dogs, 95 degrees outside, no shoes, no contacts, of course no phone and no keys. It was quite the predicament… I ended up finding the head of a sledgehammer and breaking one of the window panes in the door to unlock it and let myself back in. Anyhow, I dreamed that night that my friend came home, had a good laugh with me and calmly proceeded to help me clean up the mess. 🙂 Since I usually have the anxiety type of dreams this was really nice.

    And I’m happy to report that when she and her family came home and heard the story, we all had a good laugh!

  4. Melanie J says:

    Usually I’m anxious but every now and then I’ll dream of one of my parents and then it’s totally normal and happy, like seeing them again, and I’m sad to wake up.

  5. Thora says:

    I have long novel like dreams (sometimes I’m not even in them at all, but just a spectator). Then I’ll wake up, and (attempt to) regail Avram with all of the long and imaginary details, and usually he’ll nod and say, “umm-humm” while completely ignoring me. But they are a lot better than the anxiety dreams, which I also have.

  6. debbie says:

    I do love a wild ride in a dream!

  7. libilu says:

    I just have weird dreams. Like once during girl’s camp I had a dream where elderly and middle-aged people were chasing me with fruit and I was crawling away from them on a concrete driveway. (That isn’t even close to being the weirdest one I’ve had recently.)

  8. zstitches says:

    Yikes, Lib, that’s terrifying. Gotta watch out for those scary fruit-wielding middle-aged people.

Leave a Reply

